Perfect holiday reads for every kind of getaway

27 April 2016

By The Window Seat

Our pick of the best books to take to the beach, to the pool or to read in the garden this Summer.  


The country retreat
 
The Lake House

Kate Morton
 
Take an enchanting and mysterious trip to the Cornish coast with the number one bestselling author of The House at Riverton.
 
June 1933, and the Edevane family's country house, Loeanneth, is polished and gleaming, ready for the much-anticipated Midsummer Eve party. But by the time midnight strikes and fireworks light up the night skies, the Edevane family will have suffered a loss so great that they leave Loeanneth forever.
  
Start reading now
 

The historical tour
 
The Constant Queen

Joanna Courtney
 
1066: an enormous date in English history, perhaps the biggest of them all – a year when great leaders fought for our throne, dragging the whole country into their bitter battles and wasting countless lives. Three men claimed the crown that year, but what of the three potential queens?
 
The perfect blend of history, fast-paced plot and sweeping romance, The Constant Queen is perfect for fans of Elizabeth Chadwick and Philippa Gregory.
 
Start reading now
 

The family beach holiday
 
Baby at the Beach Café

Lucy Diamond

Lucy Diamond’s short story follow-up to her bestselling novel The Beach Café was written especially for mum’s who struggle to find time to read.
 
This is the perfect quick read if you need something that you can pick up and put down in between making sure everyone is fed, watered and covered in sun cream.
 
Start reading now



The adventure holiday
 
The Storm Sister

Lucinda Riley
 
The second book in Lucinda Riley's spellbinding series takes us from the turquoise waters of the Aegean Sea to the icy beauty of Norway.
 
Ally D'Aplièse is about to compete in one of the world's most perilous yacht races, when she hears the news of her adoptive father's sudden, mysterious death. Rushing back to meet her five sisters at their family home, she discovers that her father has left each of them a tantalising clue to their true heritage.

Start reading now
 

The arty break
 
The Watercolourist

Beatrice Masini
 
Explore the secrets of a beautiful country villa in this irresistible Italian bestseller.
 
Nineteenth-century Italy. A young woman arrives at a villa in the countryside outside Milan. Bianca, a gifted young watercolourist, has been commissioned to illustrate the plants in the magnificent grounds. But as Bianca's determination to unlock the secrets of the villa grows, she little notices the dangers that lie all around her.
 
Start reading now


The romantic weekend away
 
Miss You

Kate Eberlen
 
A love story about two people who have never met that will still manage to break your heart.
 
Tess and Gus are meant to be. They just haven't met properly yet. And perhaps they never will . . .
 
A witty, uplifting story of two lives criss-crossing but not quite aligning, perfect for anyone who loved One Day



The week lazing by the pool
 
Luckiest Girl Alive 

Jessica Knoll
 
Need a gripping read to keep you from dozing off by the pool? Jessica Knoll’s page-turning debut thriller is the book for you.

Ani FaNelli is the woman who has it all: the glamorous job, the designer wardrobe, the handsome and rich fiancé. But behind her meticulously crafted facade lies the darkest of pasts . . .
 
Start reading now


The group holiday
 
Invincible Summer

Alice Adams
 
A warm, wise and witty novel about finding the courage to carry on despite life not always turning out as expected, and a powerful testament to love and friendship as the constants in an ever-changing world.

Inseparable through university, Eva, Benedict, Sylvie and Lucien graduate into an exhilarating world on the brink of the new millennium.
 
As their twenties give way to their thirties, the four friends find their paths diverging as they struggle to navigate broken hearts and thwarted dreams. With every summer that passes, they try to remain as close as they once were - but this is far from easy. One friend's triumph coincides with another's disaster, one finds love as another loses it, one comes to their senses as another is changing their mind . . . And who knows where any of us will be in twenty summers' time?


Long-haul flight entertainment
 
The Lie Tree
Frances Hardinge
 
Frances Hardinge's Victorian murder mystery is exactly the sort of gripping read you need when the in-flight movie selection just isn’t cutting it.
 
When Faith’s father is found dead under mysterious circumstances, she is determined to untangle the truth from the lies.
 
As she is searching through his belongings for clues she discovers a strange tree. The tree only grows healthy and bears fruit if you whisper a lie to it. The girl realizes that she is good at lying and that the tree might hold the key to her father's murder, so she begins to spread untruths far and wide.
 
Start reading now


The camping weekend
 
The Jungle Book

Rudyard Kipling
 
With any luck you won’t be facing off any tigers whilst out in the wilds but Rudyard Kipling's animal stories still make perfect campfire reading.
 
Children will be mesmerised by the tale of Mowgli, a boy raised by a pack of wolves in the Indian jungle, the tiger Shere Khan, Bagheera, the black panther, Baloo, the 'sleepy brown bear', and the python, Kaa. No film version has ever matched the wonder of Kipling’s exotic and exciting tales.
 
Start reading now


Sunbathing in the garden

In The Unlikely Event
Judy Blume 
 
Who said you had to go further than your own back garden to make the most of the summer?  There’s no better way to spend a sunny afternoon than with, one of America's most beloved authors, Judy Blume.
 
In 1987, Miri Ammerman returns to her hometown of Elizabeth, New Jersey, to attend a commemoration of the worst year of her life. Thirty-five years earlier, when Miri was fifteen and in love for the first time, three planes fell from the sky within three months, leaving a community reeling. 

Start reading now


Sign up to The Window Seat monthly email and you'll receive brilliant book recommendations, exclusive interviews and competitions from us every month. ​

Not only that but we'll send a short story from one of our favourite writers, Diane Chamberlain, straight to your inbox to welcome you to our community of book lovers.



 

You may also like

The Lake House
The Constant Queen
A Baby at the Beach Cafe
The Storm Sister
The Watercolourist
Miss You
Luckiest Girl Alive
Invincible Summer
The Jungle Book
In the Unlikely Event
The Lie Tree

You may also like