David Olusoga longlisted for the inaugural Jhalak Prize

05 January 2017

By Pan Macmillan

David Olusoga's vital re-examination of a shared history, Black and British: A Forgotten Historyhas been longlisted for the Jhalak Prize for Book of the Year by a Writer of Colour.

This exciting new annual award seeks to celebrate books by British/British resident BAME writers, and the overall winner will be presented with a prize of £1,000. The longlist consists of fiction, YA, non-fiction, debuts, short stories and genre and is an exciting snapshot of the incredible array of writers of colour in Britain at the moment.

Sunny Singh, acclaimed author and co-founder of the award said, “It has been an absolute joy and privilege to read through the submissions. The first ever Jhalak Prize longlist demonstrates the strength, range and promise being produced by writers of colour in the UK today.”

Also on the longlist:

• Chasing the Stars by Malorie Blackman (Doubleday Childrens)
• Harmless Like You by Rowan Hisayo Buchanan (Sceptre)
• Nine Is Not OK by Shappi Khorsandi (Ebury)
• Orangeboy by Patrice Lawrence (Hodder)
• Augustown by Kei Miller (W&N)
• The Girl Of Ink And Stars by Kiran Millwood Hargrave (Chicken House)
• A Rising Man by Abir Mukherjee (Harvill Secker)
• Speak Gigantular by Irenosen Okojie (Jacaranda)
• In the Bonesetter’s Waiting Room: Travels through Indian Medicine by Aarathi Prasad (Profile)
• The Bone Readers by Jacob Ross (Peepal Tree Press)
• Another Day In The Death Of America by Gary Younge (Faber)

The shortlist will be announced on 6th February 2017 and the winner will be announced during Bare Lit Festival 2017.

You may also like