China Miéville shortlisted for The Rathbones Folio Prize 2017

07 April 2017

We're delighted that China Miéville's novella This Census-Taker has been shortlisted for The Rathbones Folio Prize 2017.
 
The Rathbones Folio Prize celebrates the best literature of our time, regardless of form. All the books considered for the prize are nominated by the Folio Academy, an international group of esteemed writers and critics.
 
The three judges for the 2017 prize, Ahdaf Soueif (chair), Lucy Hughes-Hallett and Rachel Holmes, have chosen an exhilarating range of books for this year’s shortlist, which was announced on 6 April.
 
The winner will be announced on 24th May 2017 at a ceremony at the British Library. Find out more about the The Rathbones Folio Prize at www.rathbonesfolioprize.com
 

This Census-Taker
China Miéville

In a remote house on a hilltop, a lonely boy witnesses a profoundly traumatic event. Left alone with his increasingly deranged parent, he dreams of safety, of joining the other children in the town below, of escape.

When at last a stranger knocks at his door, the boy senses that his days of isolation might be over.

For readers of George Saunders, Kelly Link and David Mitchell, This Census-Taker is a stunning, uncanny, and profoundly moving novella.

Start reading This Census Taker

 
The 2017 Rathbones Folio prize shortlist in full,
 
The Vanishing Man by Laura Cumming (Chatto & Windus)
The Return by Hisham Matar (Viking)
This Census-Taker by China Miéville (Picador)
The Sport of Kings by CE Morgan (4th Estate)
The Argonauts by Maggie Nelson (Melville House)
Golden Hill by Francis Spufford (Faber & Faber)
Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeleine Thien (Granta)
Burning Country: Syrians in Revolution and War by Robin Yassin-Kassab and Leila Al-Shami (Pluto Press)
 
 
Watch China reading from This Census-Taker