The Picador Book Club: The Ladies of the House by Molly McGrann

07 April 2016

Welcome to the Picador Book Club. Each month we'll be suggesting a new or classic paperback that is perfect for book club discussion.


We'll be featuring reading group questions to help get your discussion going, author interviews and extracts from our chosen book. We'll also be giving you the chance to win copies for your whole book club (see below for this month's giveaway) and your reviews could be featured on the blog. If you’d like to join the discussion about this month’s choice online, please use #PicadorBookClub.

This month’s recommended novel for book clubs is Molly McGrann's The Ladies of the House, a clever and unusual story about a daughter uncoving a family secret linked to a dilapidated brothel in post-war London. It's the perfect book club choice for fans of Sarah Waters, Kate Atkinson or Muriel Spark. 

'A darkly playful tale about beauty, aging and morality' 
Country Life

A note from Picador Editorial Director, Francesca Main on The Ladies of the House.

'I’m thrilled to introduce Molly McGrann’s playful, elegant and darkly surprising novel, The Ladies of the House.  It’s a book that captivates from the very first page, on which we are introduced to Marie Gillies and learn that three people have been found dead in a dilapidated house in Primrose Hill.  Marie has never met the inhabitants of the house, but she knows their secrets, having recently discovered their part in her late father’s long-hidden double life . . .

I love the wit, verve and lingering power of Molly McGrann’s writing and the unforgettable characters that light up this book.  If you are a fan of Sarah Waters, Kate Atkinson or Muriel Spark, it might just be the perfect novel for you.  I hope you enjoy it.' 

The Ladies of the House by Molly McGrann

Marie's life is anything but exciting: she spends her days working at a linen shop and her evenings in front of the telly, eating biscuits with her mother. Until one day, a trip to the bank leads her to uncover her late father's deepest secret, and the truth about the other women in his life – Rita, the former beauty and 1940s good-time girl now on the lookout for husband number six; Annetta, whose dementia offers little respite from her painful past; and the charismatic Sal, who once presided over the ladies of the house and whose presence is still felt within its walls . . .

Listen to a clip from The Ladies of the House, read by Imogen Church.

 

Read our book club questions for The Ladies of the House here. 

You may also like