The David Gemmell Legend Awards were created to honour the memory of David Gemmell, the bestselling British fantasy author who has sold over a million copies worldwide.  The awards were established in 2009 and the first winner was Andrzej Sapkowski, who was awarded the best novel award for BLOOD OF ELVES.  There are now three awards all of which are open to public vote; the David Gemmell Legend Award for Best Fantasy Novel, the Morningstar Award for Best Fantasy Newcomer and the Ravenheart Award for Best Fantasy Cover Art.

The award trophies are quite possibly the coolest things we have ever seen – Legend award winners are awarded a half-scale Snaga (an axe!) and this year’s Ravenheart award winner will receive a bust of Druss the Axeman!

Tor’s own John Gwynne won the Newcomer award for MALICE in 2013, and this year we have Adrian Tchaikovsky nominated for Best Novel with WAR MASTER'S GATE.  Fingers crossed for Adrian at the ceremony, which is being hosted at The Magic Circle on Friday 13th June! We would really like to add that axe to our trophy cabinet.


On this year’s shortlist Stan Nicholls, Chair for the Gemmell Awards, said:

‘This year’s shortlist once again represents some of the very finest in fantasy fiction, with some incredible titles featured in all the categories. This year also represents a fascinating mixture not only of international names but also different aspects of the publishing world, showcasing the depth of quality in modern fantasy.’


Legend Award (Best novel)

The Daylight War by Peter V Brett (Del Rey Books US)

Emperor of Thorns by Mark Lawrence (Harper Collins UK)

The Republic of Thieves by Scott Lynch (Del Rey Books US)

A Memory of Light by Brandon Sanderson and Robert Jordan (Tor/Forge US)

War Master’s Gate by Adrian Tchaikovsky (Tor UK)


Morningstar Award (Best debut novel)

 The Garden of Stones by Mark T Barnes (47 North)

Headtaker by David Guymer (Black Library)

Promise of Blood by Brian McLellan (Orbit)

The Path of Anger by Antoine Rouaud (Gollancz)

The Grim Company by Luke Scull (Head of Zeus)


Ravenheart Award (Best cover art)

 Benjamin Carre for the cover of The Republic of Thieves by Scott Lynch (Gollancz)

Jason Chan for the cover of Emperor of Thorns by Mark Lawrence (Harper Collins UK)

Cheol Joo Lee for the cover of Skarsnik by Guy Haley (Black Library)

Gene Mollica and Michael Frost for the cover of Promise of Blood by Brian McClellan (Orbit)

Rhett Podersoo for the cover of She Who Waits by Daniel Polansky (Hodder)


Best of luck to all those nominated!

Find out more about The David Gemmell Legend Awards.