We are thrilled to announce that Adrian Tchaikovsky's science fiction masterpiece Children of Time has been awarded the Arthur C. Clarke Award!

And not just any Arthur C. Clarke Award - this is the 30th anniversary of the prize, which is presented annually to the best SF novel published in the UK that year. Adrian accepted the award with a moving speech, emphasising the importance of empathy in science fiction.

'Children of Time is a joy from start to finish. Entertaining, smart, surprising and unexpectedly human' - Patrick Ness 'A refreshingly new take on post-dystopia civilizations, with the smartest evolutionary worldbuilding you'll ever read' - Peter F. Hamilton

Having already gained fans such as SF master
Peter F. Hamilton, and award-winning author and Doctor Who spin-off showrunner Patrick Ness, CHILDREN OF TIME was praised by judges for its 'epic and yet human scale'. 

Tom Hunter, now in his 10th year as Director of the award, said that CHILDREN OF TIME 'has a universal scale and sense of wonder reminiscent of Clarke himself, combined with one of the best science fictional extrapolations of a not-so-alien species and their evolving society [that] I’ve ever read'. Can't get higher praise than that!

* * * 

Adrian is a man of many talents across a variety of genres - he is also the author of the ten-part Shadows of the Apt series, flintlock fantasy Guns of the Dawn, and the first in a new epic fantasy trilogy, The Tiger and the Wolf. He joins a prestigious roster of Clarke Award winners, including Margaret Atwood (recipient of the very first award in 1987), Ann Leckie, and fellow Pan Macmillan authors China MiƩville, Jeff Noon and last year's winner, Emily St. John Mandel

The prize was announced at a special ceremony held at Foyles bookshop’s flagship store on Charing Cross Road, London, and presented in front of an audience of science fiction writers, publishers and fans. The evening began with a toast to the memory of Sir Arthur C. Clarke led by Angie Edwards, Sir Arthur’s niece.

You can find Adrian on Twitter at @aptshadow