The winners of the David Gemmell Awards were announced on Friday 13th June at London’s The Magic Circle, surely the only venue to have an entire cabinet devoted to Paul Daniels.  Now in their sixth year, the awards celebrate the best in fantasy fiction and all in honour of the awesome David Gemmell. We very much enjoyed the ceremony, and the chance to explore The Magic Circle with a glass of champagne!

Magic Circle

The Ravenheart Award for best cover art went to Jason Chan for Mark Lawrence’s Emperor of Thorns. Jason was the first recipient of the newly designed Ravenheart trophy, the designer of which was in the audience. We were very jealous!

The Morningstar Award for best debut novel was awarded to Brian McClellan for Promise of Blood. Tor’s own John Gwynne presented the award, who was last year’s recipient and wearing a rather snazzy waistcoat.

The Legend Award for best fantasy novel went to Mark Lawrence for Emperor of Thorns.  The snaga trophy (an imitation axe) was presented by SFX editor Dave Bradley, who joked “I’ve always wanted to take an axe to an author.”

Congratulations to all the winners, and all the shortlisted nominees including Tor’s Adrian Tchaivoksy who was shorlisted for War Master's Gate.  As Adrian said on his blog: “The Axe finds its Mark… it’s worth not winning for that pun.”