Pan Macmillan is thrilled to announce the acquisition of a new standalone novel, from the award-winning author Naomi Novik. Editorial Director Bella Pagan acquired UK and Commonwealth rights to Spinning Silver from US publishers Del Rey. Spinning Silver will publish on 12th July 2018, matching the US publication date.


Inspired by the original Rumpelstiltskin fairy tale, Naomi Novik has written a rich, multi-layered fantasy. It’s a powerful story of sacrifice, power and love – and a joy to read. In the novel, we meet Miryem – brought up in the shadow of a snow-peaked mountain on the edge of a charmed forest. Her family are moneylenders by trade, but her kind father is quick to lend and reluctant to collect. So his family faces poverty – until Miryem intercedes. Hardening her heart, she sets out to retrieve what’s owed, and her fellow villagers soon whisper she can turn silver into gold. Then an ill-advised boast attracts the cold creatures that haunt the wood. Nothing will be the same again, for words have power. And the challenge she’s issued will change the fate of a kingdom.

Naomi Novik said:  ‘Spinning Silver is very close to my heart, as Uprooted was; but where Uprooted was based largely in the experiences of my mother's side of the family, Spinning Silver is tied more to the stories of my father's side. While it's not a sequel, the two are still emotionally connected – they are traveling together side by side, as it were. I'm so delighted to be working with Bella and Pan Macmillan to share it with readers in the UK and the Commonwealth!’

Pagan enthused:  ‘I adored Uprooted and I knew I would love Spinning Silver. But this heartfelt, lyrical novel surpassed all my expectations. I’m so looking forward to publishing this – another triumph from Naomi Novik.’

This wonderful novel is perfect for readers of Joanne Harris’ The Gospel of Loki, Katherine Arden’s The Bear and the Nightingale and Frances Hardinge’s A Skinful of Shadows. And Uprooted received rave reviews from Ursula Le Guin, Robin Hobb, Cassandra Clare, Patrick Rothfuss and many others. Based on Polish folklore, this won the 2016 Nebula, Locus and British Fantasy Awards for Best Novel, and was shortlisted for the Hugo and World Fantasy Awards.

Naomi Novik is the acclaimed author of the Temeraire series as well as Uprooted. She has also won the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, the Locus Award for Best New Writer and the Compton Crook Award for Best First Novel. She lives in New York City with her husband and daughter, surrounded by an excessive number of purring computers.