clarke-award1_2Yesterday, this year's Arthur C. Clarke Award shortlist was announced and the interwebs have been buzzing already! We thought that we'd therefore dedicate our Friday Facebook competition to this fine institution, and also give you a little round-up of articles discussing the shortlist so far.

Tor UK is proud to have a number of Arthur C. Clarke award-winners on its list and you can win these titles by going to our Facebook page here. These include not one but several China Miéville titles (his Railsea is out this month in PB) plus the anniversary edition of Jeff Noon's Vurt; also out this month. This won the award in 1994, and the new hardback contains a foreword by Arthur C. Clarke award-winner Lauren Beukes (see what we did there?!).

As many of you will already know, the shortlist this year consists of the following titles and see below for commentary:
Nod by Adrian Barnes (Bluemoose)
Dark Eden by Chris Beckett (Corvus) 
Angelmaker by Nick Harkaway (William Heinemann)
The Dog Stars by Peter Heller ((Headline) 
Intrusion by Ken MacLeod (Orbit) 
2312 by Kim Stanley Robinson (Orbit)


You can follow the debate by looking at some of the articles that have sprung up so far:
- Stuart Kelley in the Guardian: A Booker judge's envy of the Arthur C. Clarke Award: 
In a very impressive shortlist, the received distinction between 'literary' and 'genre' fiction has never looked so flimsy
- Alison Flood in the Guardian: Arthur C. Clarke Award announces all-male shortlist.
- Arthur C. Clarke judge Liz Williams in the Guardian: Why this feminist chose an all-male Clarke prize shortlist
- Charlie Jane Anders in The Best Science Fiction novels of 2012, according to the Clarke Awards
- Niall Harrison on Strange Horizons: Clarke 2013: The Shortlist
- David Hebblethwaite on his book blog Follow the Thread: Arthur C. Clarke Award 2013 - The Shortlist

So, many congratulations to all shortlisters, see more by watching the Clarke Award on twitter here and don't forget to check into our Facebook competition!