369At this year's Eastercon ceremony, the 2011 BSFA Awards were announced to a packed audience, including George R R Martin and other genre luminaries. Tor UK was honoured to have China Miéville shortlisted in the Best Novel category, and congratulations to Christopher Priest for winning this category with THE ISLANDERS. And Paul Cornell triumphed with a win in the short fiction category for The Copenhagen Interpretation (Asimov’s, July).  

And those winnners in full are below ...







embassytown-978033053307201-198x3001BEST BOOK AWARD

This category was won by Christopher Priest for The Islanders (Gollancz).

The shortlist:

  • Cyber Circus by Kim Lakin-Smith (Newcon Press)
  • Embassytown by China Miéville (Macmillan)
  • The Islanders by Christopher Priest (Gollancz)
  • By Light Alone by Adam Roberts (Gollancz)
  • Osama by Lavie Tidhar (PS Publishing)



We were absolutely delighed that The Copenhagen Interpretation by Paul Cornell (Asimov’s, July) won this category.

paul-cornellThe shortlist:



The Best Non-Fiction category was won by The SF Encyclopedia, 3rd Edition ed. John Clute, Peter Nicholls, David Langford and Graham Sleight (Gollancz website). Here is the shortlist of other strong contenders for that award:

The shortlist:



Out of This World: Science Fiction but not as we Know it by Mike Ashley (British Library) didn't win in the non-fiction category. However, such was the enthusiasm for the exhibition itself, that it won a special one-off award, hugely deserved.



Lastly, the Best Art Award was announced, with the winner being Dominic Harman. The shortlisting for this year's BSFA nominees in this category is below:

The shortlist:

  • Cover of Ian Whates’s The Noise Revealed by Dominic Harman (Solaris)
  • Cover and illustrations of Patrick Ness’s A Monster Calls by Jim Kay (Walker)
  • Cover of Lavie Tidhar’s Osama by Pedro Marques (PS Publishing)
  • Cover of Liz Williams’s A Glass of Shadow by Anne Sudworth (Newcon Press)