The best books to listen to on audio

21 November 2016

By The Window Seat

Audiobooks have become more and more popular over the last few years, as book lovers have realised that they can listen to their favourite books while in the car, making dinner, doing household chores, exercising, in fact, almost anywhere.  

Simply put, audiobooks allow us to read even more books and that can only be a good thing. Not sure where to start? Here’s a few audiobooks that we think are definitely worth a listen. 

Helen Fielding’s Bridget Jones's Diary

It’s always a pleasure to catch up with Helen Fielding’s hilarious, pissed, chain-smoking London singleton. Remind yourself where it all began with Bridget's first diary, which went on to be a multi-million copy bestseller.

 
Available from Audible

Karen Swan’s Christmas Under The Stars

Could there be a more a perfect story to listen to while you make your mince piece than Karen Swan’s gripping, festive novel set amongst the snow-topped mountains of the Canadian Rockies?

 
Available from Audible

Kate Eberlen’s Miss You

Kate Eberlen’s story of true love and near misses is the perfect listen for any hopeless romantic. 

 
Available from Audible

Emma Donoghue’s The Wonder

The latest novel from the bestselling author of Room is a gripping historical thriller about an eleven-year-old girl who stops eating, but remains miraculously alive and well.

‚Äč

Available from Audible 

Frances Hardinge’s The Lie Tree

Frances Hardinge's award-winning Victorian murder mystery will have you listening well past bedtime.



Available from Audible 

Winston Graham's Poldark series

For anyone suffering from Poldark-withdrawal, there is no better cure than Winston Graham's epic series of Cornish novels, on which the BBC series starring Aidan Turner is based (read The Black Moon and The Four Swans for a sneak peek at the third series coming to TV in 2017).



Available from Audible 

Jessica Knoll’s Luckiest Girl Alive

One of the most talked-about thrillers of the year, Jessica Knoll’s dark, gripping story of a seemingly perfect woman running from her traumatic adolescence will be compulsive listening for fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins or Jodi Picoult.



Available from Audible 

Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl

Another magical coming-of-age story from the wonderful Rainbow Rowell. Fangirl is a funny and touching novel about family, fan-fiction, and first love, perfect for anyone who remembers what it was like to be eighteen.



Available from Audible

Visit our Soundcloud to sample more of our favourite audiobooks.



Sign up to The Window Seat monthly email and you'll receive brilliant book recommendationsexclusive interviews and competitions and helpful lifestyle tips from us every month. 

You may also like