Released on 01 June 2007.

#4 in series
Read extract  

The Hanging Valley

and Peter Robinson

3.96 based on 3886 ratings & 142 reviews on


The Hanging Valley is the fourth novel in Peter Robinson's Inspector Banks series, following on from A Necessary End.

A faceless corpse is discovered in a tranquil, hidden valley below the village of Swainshead. And when Chief Inspector Alan Banks arrives, he finds that no-one is willing to talk. Banks's frustration only grows when the identity of the body is revealed. For it seems that his latest case may be connected with an unsolved murder in the same area five years ago.

Among the silent suspects are the Collier brothers, the wealthiest and most powerful family in the area. When they start using their influence to slow down the investigation, Banks finds himself in a race against time . . .

The Hanging Valley is followed by the fifth book in this Yorkshire-based crime series, Past Reason Hated.