James Herbert Award


The James Herbert Award for Horror Writing

I didn't plan to write horror; it just poured out of me.’
James Herbert

To celebrate the life and career of one of the world’s best and most loved horror writers, Pan Macmillan and the estate of James Herbert are pleased to announce The James Herbert Award for Horror Writing.

The prize, which will be awarded annually, aims to discover and publicise a new generation of horror authors working today and celebrate the boldest and most exciting talent in the genre.  The winning author will receive a specially-designed commemorative statuette and a cheque for £2000.

The inaugural award will be open to horror novels written in English and published in the UK between 1st January 2014 and 31st December 2014. Self published novels are not eligible.

Where possible, entries should be submitted below electronically and 7 physical copies of the title, either early proofs, bound proofs or finished copies, should be sent to

The James Herbert Award,
Comms. Department,
Pan Macmillan,
20 New Wharf Road,
N1 9RR.

A shortlist of five novels will be announced in January 2015 with the winner announced at an awards ceremony in March 2015. 

For full submission guidelines, please consult the terms and conditions.

The prize for this year has now closed.