Eva Ibbotson

Adaptive Author Page Email Signup Form

Sign up now

Want to hear more about ?
Sign up for great extra content and free extracts.

Confirm your subscription to the mailing list


Eva Ibbotson

Latest book

Let Sleeping Sea-Monsters Lie: and Other Cautionary Tales

About Eva Ibbotson

Eva Ibbotson was born in Vienna in 1925 and moved to England with her father when the Nazis came into power. Ibbotson wrote more than twenty books for children and young adults, many of which garnered nominations for major awards for children's literature in the UK, including the Nestlé Smarties Book Prize and the Whitbread Prize. Eva's critically acclaimed Journey to the River Sea won the Smarties Gold Medal in 2001. Set in the Amazon, it was written in honour of her deceased husband Alan, a former naturalist. Imaginative and humorous, Eva's books often convey her love of nature, in particular the Austrian countryside, which is evident in works such as The Star Of Kazan and A Song For Summer. Eva passed away at her home in Newcastle on October 20th 2010. Her final book, One Boy and His Dog, was published in May 2011.

Books by Eva Ibbotson

  • The Christmas Star: A Festive Story Collection
  • The Morning Gift
  • A Song for Summer
  • Magic Flutes
  • The Secret Countess
  • A Company of Swans
  • The Beasts of Clawstone Castle
  • Monster Mission
  • The Secret of Platform 13
  • Which Witch?
  • The Dragonfly Pool
  • Journey to the River Sea
  • The Star of Kazan
  • Let Sleeping Sea-Monsters Lie: and Other Cautionary Tales
  • Let Sleeping Sea-Monsters Lie: And other cautionary tales by Eva Ibbotson
  • Madensky Square
  • The Ogre of Oglefort
  • Not Just a Witch
  • Dial a Ghost
  • The Haunting of Hiram
  • The Great Ghost Rescue