Peter F. Hamilton

Peter F. Hamilton

About Peter F. Hamilton

Peter F. Hamilton was born in Rutland in 1960 and still lives in that county. He began writing in 1987, and sold his first short story to Fear magazine in 1988. He has written many bestselling novels, including the Greg Mandel series, the Night’s Dawn trilogy, the Commonwealth Saga, the Void trilogy, two short story collections and several standalone novels. Find out more about Peter F. Hamilton at or discover more Pan Macmillan and Tor UK books at

Latest book

The Abyss Beyond Dreams

Books by Peter F. Hamilton

  • The Abyss Beyond Dreams
  • The Secret Throne
  • Pandora's Star
  • Judas Unchained
  • The Dreaming Void
  • The Evolutionary Void
  • The Temporal Void
  • Family Matters: A Short Story
  • Mindstar Rising
  • A Second Chance at Eden
  • The Confederation Handbook
  • Great North Road
  • Misspent Youth
  • The Reality Dysfunction
  • The Neutronium Alchemist
  • The Naked God
  • Manhattan in Reverse
  • Manhattan in Reverse: The Complete Collection
  • Watching Trees Grow: A Short Story from the Manhattan in Reverse Collection
  • Footvote: A Short Story from the Manhattan in Reverse Collection
  • If At First: A Short Story from the Manhattan in Reverse Collection
  • The Forever Kitten: A Short Story from the Manhattan in Reverse Collection
  • Blessed by an Angel: A Short Story from the Manhattan in Reverse Collection
  • The Demon Trap: A Short Story from the Manhattan in Reverse Collection
  • A Quantum Murder
  • The Nano Flower
  • Footvote
  • The Demon Trap
  • Fallen Dragon

Peter F. Hamilton's books in order

The Greg Mandel series

Mindstar Rising
The first novel in the trilogy sees Greg Mandel battling against an elusive saboteur of the organisation known as Event Horizon. And nothing less than the future is at stake.

A Quantum Murder
Following the brutal murder of Professor Edward Kitchener, Greg Mandel starts an investigation that uncovers astounding revelations about a past which might never have happened.

The Nano Flower
An anonymously delivered flower to the owner of Event Horizon sparks an investigation into its origin. The Nano Flower has genes millions of years in advance of terrestrial DNA and Greg Mandel soon realises he is not the alone in his desperate search.

The Night’s Dawn trilogy

The Reality Dysfunction
Just as a golden age for the human race is dawning, something goes catastrophically wrong. An extinct race called it ‘The Reality Dysfunction, and it unleashes all the most primal of our fears.

The Neutronium Alchemist
Amidst battles for survival against strange and brutal forces, Dr Alkad Mzu is determined to retrieve the Alchemist, and complete her thirty-year vendetta to slay a star.

The Naked God
As the Confederation stands on the verge of collapse, Joshua Calver and Syrinx embark on a mission to find the Sleeping God, in hope of finding the key to overthrowing the possessed.

The Commonwealth novels

Pandora’s Star
After a star vanishes inexplicably, starship ‘Second Chance’ is dispatched to investigate. What awaits them threatens to destroy the Commonwealth, and humanity itself.

Judas Unchained
Forced to finally admit the existence of the Starflyer, the Commonwealth set out to track him down this enigmatic and terrifying alien, in the concluding of the Commonwealth novels.

Chronicle of the Fallers

The Abyss Beyond Dreams
When Nigel Sheldon journeys into the Void to investigate the mysterious images of lost civilization dreamed by the prophet of the age, he discovers Bienvenido: a world he never knew existed. The inhabitants are engaged in a desperate battle against The Fallers, whom Nigel soon realises may be the key to destroying the Void itself – if only he can stay alive long enough…

The Void trilogy

The Dreaming Void
Following the disappearance of the chosen conduit Inigo, his followers instigate a journey into the Void: an act that could trigger its expansion and the damage of our galaxy beyond all repair.

The Temporal Void
The Living Dream Cult prepare to pilgrimage in to the Void, whilst Investigator Paula Myo delves into the story at the heard of it all: Edeard the Glorious.

The Evolutionary Void
As Millions of Living Dream pilgrims journey into the Void in search of a perfect life, time is running out for Ozzie, Gore Burnelli, and the legendary Paula Myo, who will do anything to stop the pilgrims from entering.

Short story collections

A Second Chance at Eden
Set in the same universe as the Night’s Dawn Trilogy, this collection features six short stories and a novella including the tale of one man’s obsessive vengeance against the last survivor of an alien race.

Manhattan in Reverse
A collection of Short Stories including the return of Paula Myo from the bestselling Commonwealth Series.

Standalone novels

Fallen Dragon
Upon hearing of a treasure large enough to buy lifelong happiness, Lawrence Newtown mounts a private-enterprise operation to seek the Temple of the Fallen Dragon.

Misspent Youth
When internationally renowned inventor Jeff Baker is chosen for rejuvenation, he leaves aged seventy-eight and returns home looking no more than twenty. Yet the glow starts to fade as everything changes around him and he realises that great gifts come at a price.

The Confederation Handbook
The essential companion and guide to the diverse elements of the massive universe Peter F. Hamilton created in his fantastic 'Night's Dawn Trilogy'.

Great North Road
When attending a murder scene, Detective Sidney Hurst discovers a North clone billionaire was horrifically murdered in the same manner on the tropical plant of St Libra, twenty years before, leading him to question whether the murderer is still at large.