All This Will Be Lost

Brian Payton

0 based on 0 ratings & 0 reviews on Goodreads.com
See more book details
21 May 2015
9781509808120
0 pages
Synopsis

A stunning tale of love and survival against all odds, for fans of Cold Mountain. Published in hardback as The Wind Is Not a River.

April 1943. In the bloody turmoil of war, John Easley, a journalist mourning his lost brother, is driven to expose a hidden and growing conflict: the Japanese invasion and occupation of Alaska's Aleutian Islands. But when his plane is shot down he must either surrender or struggle to survive in a harsh wilderness.
Three thousand miles to the south, Helen Easley cannot accept her husband's disappearance-an absence that exposes her sheltered, untested life. Desperate to find and be reunited with him, she sets out on a remarkable journey from the safety of her Seattle home to the war in the north.
An evocative, richly atmospheric tale of life and death, commitment and sacrifice, All This Will Be Lost, perfect for fans of Cold Mountain, is a gripping story of survival that illuminates the fragility of life and the fierce power of love.

'Beautifully written, lyrical and elegiac, [this] is a novel you must read . . . John Easley's struggle to survive and his wife Helen's struggle to find him form the most triumphant and heartbreaking love story I've read in years' David Vann, author of LEGEND OF A SUICIDE

This is sweeping epic romance, wartorn drama: think Cold Mountain, think The English Patient . . .

Radio 2, Claudia Winkleman show

A perfect storm of a wartime love story.

The Times