Out on 17 October 2019

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

Christine Féret-Fleury

See more book details
17 October 2019
9781509868339
208 pages
Synopsis

For fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog, The Girl Who Reads on the Métro is the French phenomenon by Christine Féret-Fleury ready to charm book-lovers everywhere . . .

Juliette takes the métro at the same time every morning. As she journeys to her dull office job, her one pleasure is in observing her fellow commuters and the books they choose to read: the lover of rare books, the devoted maths student, the young woman who cries on page 247 without fail. Then one day, Juliette decides to alight her train a stop early – choosing to walk the last part of her journey instead – a decision that will alter the course of her life.

As it is on this stroll that Juliette discovers the most enchanting book shop she has ever seen, and meets Soliman, the mysterious owner who lives there. For Soliman believes in the power of books to change lives – entrusting his passeurs to choose the person who needs each book the most. And he thinks Juliette is perfect for the job.

So, leaving her old life behind, Juliette will discover the true power a book can have . . .

An enchanting story made of literary references that would convince anyone to become a reader, even the most reluctant ones

Avantages

A delightful novel!

Madame Figaro

A beautiful tale, wonderfully crazy, for everyone who likes to end a book with a smile on their face

Lire