The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

Translated by Ros Schwartz

Christine Féret-Fleury

3.08 based on 2559 ratings & 454 reviews on Goodreads.com
See more book details
17 October 2019
9781509868339
208 pages
Synopsis

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro is the French phenomenon by Christine Féret-Fleury ready to charm book-lovers everywhere, for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

When Juliette takes the métro to her loathed office job each morning, her only escape is in books – she avidly reads on her journey and imagines what her fellow commuters’ choices might say about them.

But when, one day, she decides to alight the train a few stops early and meets Soliman – the mysterious owner of the most enchanting bookshop Juliette has ever seen – she is sure her life will never be the same again . . .

For Soliman also believes in the power of books to change the course of a life – entrusting his passeurs with the task of giving each book to the person who needs it most – and he thinks Juliette is perfect for the job.

And so, leaving her old life behind, Juliette will discover the true power a book can have . . .

An enchanting story made of literary references that would convince anyone to become a reader, even the most reluctant ones.

Avantages

A delightful novel!

Madame Figaro

A beautiful tale, wonderfully crazy, for everyone who likes to end a book with a smile on their face.

Lire