Shepherd of Another Flock

David Wilbourne

0 based on 0 ratings & 0 reviews on Goodreads.com
See more book details
06 April 2017
9780283072710
0 pages
Synopsis

'Shh, new vicar might be listening . . .'

As the newly appointed Vicar of Helmsley, David was looking forward to working in this picturesque market town, set in the beautiful Yorkshire countryside. Admittedly the vicarage, which dated back to the twelfth century, was extremely cold and damp. And not all of his parishioners were impressed by his new-fangled ways. But with the help of the irrepressible Father Bert, a retired cleric and one-time Tail End Charlie, David set about winning over the townsfolk.

There was Lord Feversham, the local landowner who at times bore an unnerving resemblance to Henry VIII; fiery Ted, a retired chef who had fought with the Polish Free Army; Frank the singing shepherd, still working as he approached eighty, and redoubtable countrywoman Eva. All had stories of hardship and sacrifice, friendship and love. Charming and moving, Shepherd of Another Flock is a must-read for fans of authors like Gervase Phinn, James Herriot and Amanda Owen.

The gloriously beguiling saga of a new Reverend overcoming the suspicions of locals in a small Yorkshire town

Daily Mail

A glorious book

Times Literary Supplement