Maggsie McNaughton's Second Chance

Frances Maynard

4.4 based on 10 ratings & 6 reviews on Goodreads.com
See more book details
27 June 2019
9781529014013
336 pages
Synopsis

'Smart and funny' Ruth Hogan, author of The Keeper of Lost Things

The first step was learning to read, but if she really wants to turn her life around, Maggsie is going to have to trust other people and that might just be the hardest lesson she’s ever faced . . .

Small and dyslexic, with a short fuse, bad teeth, a prison record and something to prove, Marguerite McNaughton – Maggsie – doesn't need anybody or anything, thank you very much. She's more than capable of looking after herself.

She’s also about to discover that everyone needs someone, sometimes.
Even her.

The thing about trusting others, though, is that not everyone is trustworthy...

It starts when a fellow inmate gives Maggsie reading lessons. Then she's offered a job in London as a kitchen assistant, together with supported accommodation and a colleague who seems determined to befriend Maggsie, no matter what.

At first, Maggsie is convinced nothing will change.
Especially her.

But maybe this time can be different? Maybe Maggsie can be different – if she can just put her previous mistakes behind her and her trust in the right people.

Maggsie McNaughton's Second Chance, by Frances Maynard, is an uplifting, heartwarming novel about the power of friendship and the written word, perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant, Three Things about Elsie and Elizabeth is Missing.

Smart and funny

Ruth Hogan, author of The Keeper of Lost Things and Queenie Malone's Paradise Hotel

Guaranteed to melt the hardest of hearts

Red Magazine

A joy from start to finish: quirky, real and moving, with unforgettable characters you’ll root for from the very beginning

Katy Regan, author of Little Big Love