Out on 10 November 2022

Scarlet

Genevieve Cogman

See more book details
10 November 2022
9781529083729
336 pages
Synopsis

‘I absolutely loved this’ – N. K. Jemison on The Invisible Library

A thrilling reinvention of the tale of The Scarlet Pimpernel with the addition of magic and even more mayhem.


In Revolutionary France, the aristocrats are vampires – and they face the guillotine. However, the Scarlet Pimpernel, a disguised British noble, is determined to rescue them. These predators are being offered sanctuary by their aristocratic British kin, but at great cost to London’s ordinary people. Then an English maid discovers the only power that could stop them. Assuming she survives.

Scarlet is the first book in the trilogy, set during the turbulent French Revolution, and featuring all of Genevieve Cogman’s trademark wit and fast-paced plotting. It’s perfect for fans of The Invisible Library series, Kim Newman and Gail Carriger.

I absolutely loved this . . . flavoured with truly unique mythology and a dash of the eldritch. Such clever, creepy, elaborate world-building and snarky, sexy-smart characters!

N. K. Jemisin on The Invisible Library

Irene is a great heroine: fiery, resourceful and no one’s fool, she has a wonderfully droll sense of humour – much like the novel itself

Guardian on The Masked City

Brilliant and so much fun. Skullduggery, Librarians and dragons – Cogman keeps upping the ante on this delightful series!

Charles Stross on The Burning Page