The Other Mrs Walker

3.44 based on 303 ratings & 68 reviews on Goodreads.com
Picador

Publication date: 23.03.2017
ISBN: 9781447293927
Number of pages: 448

Synopsis

The Other Mrs Walker is the beguiling debut from Mary Paulson-Ellis, for fans of Kate Atkinson and Sarah Waters.

-- Waterstones Scottish Book of the Month March 2017 --

Somehow she'd always known that she would end like this. In a small square room, in a small square flat. In a small square box, perhaps. Cardboard, with a sticker on the outside. And a name . . .

An old lady dies alone and unheeded in a cold Edinburgh flat on a snowy Christmas night. A faded emerald dress hangs in her wardrobe; a spilt glass of whisky pools on the floor.

A few days later a middle-aged woman arrives back in the city she thought she’d left behind, her future uncertain, her past in tatters.

She soon finds herself a job at the Office for Lost People, tracking down the families of those who have died neglected and alone.

But what Margaret Penny cannot yet know, is just how entangled her own life will become in the death of one lonely stranger . . .

'One of the strongest debuts of the year' Herald

'Full of twists and turns' Independent

'A wonderful, inventive debut . . . I can't wait to see what this author has up her sleeve next' Fanny Blake, Daily Mail

In the media

A very impressive debut . . . Flinted with shards of black humour, The Other Mrs Walker is refreshingly inventive crime fiction
Irish Times
Intricate, gripping . . . The joy of this novel is that it unfolds into something positively uplifting. Margaret gets a job tracing the families of the unclaimed dead, finding a new life for herself and an understanding of her past
Saga
A wonderful, inventive debut with an intricate and intriguing structure, characters that fascinate and a beady authorial eye for detail. I can't wait to see what this author has up her sleeve next.
Daily Mail

Upcoming events

An evening with Mary Paulson-Ellis in Carlisle

An evening with Mary Paulson-Ellis in Carlisle

  • Cakes and Ale café
    Cakes and Ale café
    Bookcase 17-19 Castle St Carlisle , CA3 8SY UNITED KINGDOM
  • 28 June 2017 19:00
28 June 2017 07:00Z 28 June 2017 08:30Z

An evening with Mary Paulson-Ellis " "Wednesday 28th June, 7.30pm " "Cakes and Ale café in Bookends, 17-19 Castle Street, Carlisle " " " "Debut novelist Mary Paulson-Ellis will discuss her book...

More info >
Add event to your calendar: iCal GCal