The Other Mrs Walker

3.49 based on 254 ratings & 61 reviews on Goodreads.com
Macmillan Digital Audio

Publication date: 10.03.2016
ISBN: 9781509818037
Number of pages: 0

Synopsis

The Other Mrs Walker is the beguiling debut from Mary Paulson-Ellis, for fans of Kate Atkinson and Sarah Waters.

Somehow she'd always known that she would end like this. In a small square room, in a small square flat. In a small square box, perhaps. Cardboard, with a sticker on the outside. And a name . . .

In a freezing, desolate Edinburgh flat an old woman takes her last breath surrounded by the few objects she has accrued over a lifetime: an emerald dress, a brazil nut engraved with the ten commandments - and six orange pips sucked dry.

Meanwhile, guided by the flip of a coin, Margaret Penny arrives back at her old family home, escaping a life in London recently turned to ash. Faced with relying on a resentful mother she has never really known, Margaret soon finds herself employed by the Office for Lost People, tasked with finding the families of the dead: the neglected, the abandoned, the lost. Her instructions are to uncover paperwork, yet the only thing Mrs Walker, the old woman in her current case, left behind is a series of peculiar objects.

But in the end it is these objects that will unravel Mrs Walker's real story: a story rooted in the London grime and moving from the 1930s to the present day, a story of children abandoned and lost, of beguiling sisters and misplaced mothers, of deception and thievery, family secrets and the very deepest of betrayals; in which the extraordinary circular nature of life will glitter from the page. For in uncovering the astonishing tale of an old woman who died alone, Margaret will finally discover her own story too . . .

In the media

Intricate, gripping . . . The joy of this novel is that it unfolds into something positively uplifting. Margaret gets a job tracing the families of the unclaimed dead, finding a new life for herself and an understanding of her past
Saga
The beauty of this book is in the writing style and delicate plot . . . It reminded me of Kate Atkinson, particularly her Jackson Brodie novels - part mystery, part family drama and lots of just brilliant observation . . . Thoroughly enjoyable and highly recommended
Nudge
Full of twists and turns
Independent

Upcoming events

An evening with Mary Paulson-Ellis in Carlisle

An evening with Mary Paulson-Ellis in Carlisle

  • Cakes and Ale café
    Cakes and Ale café
    Bookcase 17-19 Castle St Carlisle , CA3 8SY UNITED KINGDOM
  • 28 June 2017 19:00
28 June 2017 07:00Z 28 June 2017 08:30Z

An evening with Mary Paulson-Ellis " "Wednesday 28th June, 7.30pm " "Cakes and Ale café in Bookends, 17-19 Castle Street, Carlisle " " " "Debut novelist Mary Paulson-Ellis will discuss her book...

More info >
Add event to your calendar: iCal GCal