The Other Mrs Walker

3.43 based on 151 ratings & 46 reviews on Goodreads.com
Picador

Publication date: 23.03.2017
ISBN: 9781447293927
Number of pages: 448

Synopsis

The Other Mrs Walker is the beguiling debut from Mary Paulson-Ellis, for fans of Kate Atkinson and Sarah Waters.

-- Waterstones Scottish Book of the Month March 2017 --

Somehow she'd always known that she would end like this. In a small square room, in a small square flat. In a small square box, perhaps. Cardboard, with a sticker on the outside. And a name . . .

An old lady dies alone and unheeded in a cold Edinburgh flat on a snowy Christmas night. A faded emerald dress hangs in her wardrobe; a spilt glass of whisky pools on the floor.

A few days later a middle-aged woman arrives back in the city she thought she’d left behind, her future uncertain, her past in tatters.

She soon finds herself a job at the Office for Lost People, tracking down the families of those who have died neglected and alone.

But what Margaret Penny cannot yet know, is just how entangled her own life will become in the death of one lonely stranger . . .

'One of the strongest debuts of the year' Herald

'Full of twists and turns' Independent

'A wonderful, inventive debut . . . I can't wait to see what this author has up her sleeve next' Fanny Blake, Daily Mail

In the media

This compelling story, set from 1921 to 2011, reveals the secrets of a group of women whose pasts are strangely connected.
Mail on Sunday
A notable debut . . . Paulson-Ellis teases out her plot intriguingly, divulging information gradually and laying some false trails which keep the reader’s interest alive. . . The squalor of life in the Penny household is compellingly realized and the wartime scenes are very well done. The author has a real gift for creating and presenting repellently corrupt characters . . . Absorbing and enjoyable
The Scotsman
Intriguing and atmospheric
Guardian