The Other Mrs Walker

3.48 based on 206 ratings & 55 reviews on Goodreads.com
Picador

Publication date: 23.03.2017
ISBN: 9781447293927
Number of pages: 448

Synopsis

The Other Mrs Walker is the beguiling debut from Mary Paulson-Ellis, for fans of Kate Atkinson and Sarah Waters.

-- Waterstones Scottish Book of the Month March 2017 --

Somehow she'd always known that she would end like this. In a small square room, in a small square flat. In a small square box, perhaps. Cardboard, with a sticker on the outside. And a name . . .

An old lady dies alone and unheeded in a cold Edinburgh flat on a snowy Christmas night. A faded emerald dress hangs in her wardrobe; a spilt glass of whisky pools on the floor.

A few days later a middle-aged woman arrives back in the city she thought she’d left behind, her future uncertain, her past in tatters.

She soon finds herself a job at the Office for Lost People, tracking down the families of those who have died neglected and alone.

But what Margaret Penny cannot yet know, is just how entangled her own life will become in the death of one lonely stranger . . .

'One of the strongest debuts of the year' Herald

'Full of twists and turns' Independent

'A wonderful, inventive debut . . . I can't wait to see what this author has up her sleeve next' Fanny Blake, Daily Mail

In the media

A very impressive debut . . . Flinted with shards of black humour, The Other Mrs Walker is refreshingly inventive crime fiction
Irish Times
Intricate, gripping . . . The joy of this novel is that it unfolds into something positively uplifting. Margaret gets a job tracing the families of the unclaimed dead, finding a new life for herself and an understanding of her past
Saga
The beauty of this book is in the writing style and delicate plot . . . It reminded me of Kate Atkinson, particularly her Jackson Brodie novels - part mystery, part family drama and lots of just brilliant observation . . . Thoroughly enjoyable and highly recommended
Nudge

Upcoming events

Open the Door Festival at Glasgow Women’s library

Open the Door Festival at Glasgow Women’s library

  • Glasgow Women’s Library
    Glasgow Women’s Library
    23 Landressy Street Glasgow , G40 1BP UNITED KINGDOM
  • 13 May 2017 13:00
13 May 2017 01:00Z 13 May 2017 06:00Z

Glasgow Women’s Library is a haven for women writers and readers in Scotland. This year we are hosting a literary festival with a twist, one that revels in the diversity and range of Scotland’s wom...

More info >
Add event to your calendar: iCal GCal