Out on 30 April 2020

The Glass Hotel

Emily St. John Mandel

4.18 based on 251 ratings & 135 reviews on Goodreads.com
See more book details
30 April 2020
9781509882809
320 pages
Synopsis

The extraordinary novel from the bestselling, award-winning author of Station Eleven

Vincent is the beautiful bartender at the Hotel Caiette, a five-star glass-and-cedar palace on the northernmost tip of Vancouver Island. New York financier Jonathan Alkaitis owns the hotel. When he passes Vincent his card with a tip, it’s the beginning of their life together. That same day, a hooded figure scrawls a note on the windowed wall of the hotel: ‘Why don’t you swallow broken glass.’ Leon Prevant, a shipping executive for a company called Neptune-Avramidis, sees the note from the hotel bar and is shaken to his core. Thirteen years later Vincent mysteriously disappears from the deck of a Neptune-Avramidis ship.

Weaving together the lives of these characters, Emily St John Mandel's The Glass Hotel moves between the ship, the skyscrapers of Manhattan, and the wilderness of remote British Columbia, painting a breathtaking picture of greed and guilt, fantasy and delusion, art and the ghosts of our pasts.

Perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale

Cosmopolitan on Station Eleven

Glorious, unexpected, superbly written; just try putting it down

The Times on Station Eleven

Disturbing, inventive and exciting, Station Eleven left me wistful for a world where I still live

Jessie Burton, author of The Miniaturist on Station Eleven