Out on 30 April 2020

The Glass Hotel

Emily St. John Mandel

4.64 based on 22 ratings & 15 reviews on Goodreads.com
See more book details
30 April 2020
9781509882809
256 pages
Synopsis

From the bestselling, award-winning author of Station Eleven.

Vincent is the beautiful bartender at the Hotel Caiette, a five-star glass-and-cedar palace on the northernmost tip of Vancouver Island. New York financier Jonathan Alkaitis owns the hotel. When he passes Vincent his card with a tip, it’s the beginning of their life together. That same day, a hooded figure scrawls a note on the windowed wall of the hotel: ‘Why don’t you swallow broken glass.’ Leon Prevant, a shipping executive for a company called Neptune-Avramidis, sees the note from the hotel bar and is shaken to his core. Thirteen years later Vincent mysteriously disappears from the deck of a Neptune-Avramidis ship.

Weaving together the lives of these characters, The Glass Hotel moves between the ship, the skyscrapers of Manhattan, and the wilderness of remote British Columbia, painting a breathtaking picture of greed and guilt, fantasy and delusion, art and the ghosts of our pasts.

Mandel’s beautiful depiction of the survival of human culture and art in a post-apocalyptic world, Perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale

Cosmopolitan on Station Eleven

Glorious, unexpected, superbly written; just try putting it down

The Times on Station Eleven

Disturbing, inventive and exciting, Station Eleven left me wistful for a world where I still live

Jessie Burton, author of The Miniaturist on Station Eleven