Out on 05 March 2020

Split

Muhammad Khan

See more book details
05 March 2020
9781529043310
0 pages
Synopsis

A day can change everything in this exclusive short story from the award-winning author of I Am Thunder, written for World Book Day 2020.

Fifteen-year-old Salma Hashbi has been caught with her boyfriend in a totally humiliating misunderstanding. Instantly accused of being easy, she is shunned by everyone at school, shamed by her community and worst of all has disappointed her mum.

Enough is enough and Salma decides to fight back against the prejudice and rumours and audition for the role of her dreams. But on the hottest day of the year, with everything against her, can Salma make it in time and show the world who she really is?

A powerful story of standing up and standing out from the Branford Boase Award-winning Muhammad Khan.

Funny and clever - a perspective long overdue in British fiction

Alex Wheatle, Guardian prize-winning author of Crongton Knights on I Am Thunder

Fans of Skins and The Hate U Give will feel right at home here

Buzzfeed on I Am Thunder

Unprecedented and essential

Guardian on I Am Thunder