Dry Bones That Dream

Peter Robinson

See more book details
04 October 2018
632 pages

Dry Bones That Dream is the seventh novel in Peter Robinson's Inspector Banks series, following on from Wednesday's Child.

It was 2.47 a.m. when Chief Inspector Alan Banks arrived at the barn and saw the body of Keith Rothwell for the first time. Only hours earlier two masked men had walked the mild-mannered accountant out of his farmhouse and clinically blasted him with a shotgun.

Clearly this is a professional hit – but Keith was hardly the sort of person to make deadly enemies. Or was he? For the police investigation soon raises more questions than answers. And who, exactly, is Robert Clavert?

The more Banks scratches the surface, the more he wonders what lies beneath the veneer of the apparently happy Rothwell family. And when his old sparring partner Detective Superintendent Richard Burgess arrives from Scotland Yard, the case take yet another unexpected twist . . .

Dry Bones That Dream is followed by the eighth book in this Yorkshire-based crime series, Innocent Graves. The series became the major British ITV drama DCI Banks

Robinson excels in the depiction of character . . . He is steadily ascending toward the pinnacles of crime fiction

Publishers Weekly