Out on 30 May 2024

The Dead of Jericho

Colin Dexter

1981 Winner

CWA Silver Dagger

30 May 2024
320 pages


Winner of the CWA Silver Dagger Award, The Dead of Jericho is the fifth novel in Colin Dexter's Oxford-set Inspector Morse series. As portrayed by John Thaw in ITV's Inspector Morse.

Morse switched on the gramophone to 'play', and sought to switch his mind away from all the terrestrial troubles. Sometimes, this way, he almost managed to forget. But not tonight . . .

Anne Scott's address was scribbled on a crumpled note in the pocket of Morse's smartest suit. As he turned the corner of Canal Street, Jericho, on the afternoon of Wednesday, 3rd October, he hadn't planned a second visit. But he was back later the same day – as the officer in charge of her suicide investigation.

Following another local death, Morse is not convinced of Anna’s suspected suicide and begins the search for answers . . .

The Dead of Jericho is followed by the sixth book in the detective series, The Riddle of the Third Mile.

Traditional crime writing at its best; the kind of book without which no armchair is complete
No one constructs a whodunit with more fiendish skill than Colin Dexter
Dexter has created a giant among fictional detectives