The Silent World of Nicholas Quinn

Colin Dexter

21 March 2024
304 pages


The Silent World of Nicholas Quinn is the third novel in Colin Dexter's Oxford-set detective series.

Morse had never ceased to wonder why, with the staggering advances in medical science, all pronouncements concerning times of death seemed so disconcertingly vague.

When the newly-appointed and gifted member of the Oxford Examinations Syndicate is murdered in his north Oxford home, so starts a formidably complicated homicide case for Chief Inspector Morse.

For tracking down the killer will involve navigating the insular and labyrinthine world of Oxford colleges . . .

The Silent World of Nicholas Quinn is followed by the fourth Inspector Morse book, Service of All the Dead.

Traditional crime writing at its best; the kind of book without which no armchair is complete
No one constructs a whodunit with more fiendish skill than Colin Dexter
Dexter has created a giant among fictional detectives