The best books for 5 and 6-year-olds

No matter what stage your child is at in their learning to read journey, these books for 5 and 6-year-olds will keep them entertained and practising their reading skills.

by Sam Book
30/10/2020
2 minutes to read

With their first school years, budding friendships, wobbly teeth and the challenges of learning to read to navigate, every day is different when you're the parent of a 5 or 6-year-old! No matter what stage your child is at in their learning to read journey, these books for 5 and 6-year-olds are brilliant to read together with an adult or for more confident readers to enjoy independently. With their bright, colourful illustrations and heaps of adventure, there's a book on this list to delight every young reader. 


The best storybooks for 5 and 6-year-olds 

Attack of the Heebie Jeebies

by Tom Percival

Book cover for 9781529029154

Attack of the Heebie Jeebies is the first book in Tom Percival’s fun and engaging illustrated series exploring anxiety in children. Erika has had a bad day. But going to sleep means bad dreams. When she finds herself trapped in the Dreamscape with a mob of Heebie Jeebies and with a terrifying Angermare on the loose, it’s up to the Dream Team to help her overcome her worries and get home safely. 

The Noisy Jungle Book

by Axel Scheffler

Book cover for 9781529025439

This interactive kid's book from Axel Scheffler, illustrator of The Gruffalo, is a surefire way to get even the most reluctant 5 and 6-year-olds excited about reading. With a rhyming story to read aloud and ten different jungle sound buttons to press, children will love discovering who's hiding inside the pages of The Noisy Jungle Book

Cyril and Pat

by Emily Gravett

Book cover for 9781509857272

The new picture book from award-winning author and illustrator Emily Gravett is great fun to read aloud with early readers. With its comical, rhyming verses and heartwarming tale of an unlikely friendship, Cyril and Pat will become a firm favourite for both you and your child! 

The Misadventures of Frederick

by Ben Manley

Book cover for 9781509851546

Despite being bored spending day after day inside, when Frederick is invited to play by adventurous Emily, his first thought is to say no, after all, it's dangerous in the great outdoors. Ben Manley’s story of cautious Frederick and his free-spirited new friend is told through the letters they send to each other and Emma Chichester Clark's charming illustrations. 

Princess Mirror-Belle

by Julia Donaldson

Book cover for 9781509838721

The day that young Ellen meets the mysterious and mischievous Princess Mirror-Belle, her life becomes full of adventure and a whole lot more fun. This chapter-book contains six short stories for early readers about Ellen and Mirror-Belle's experiences, from starting a new school to defeating the dreaded Dragon Pox. 

Max and the Midknights

by Lincoln Peirce

Book cover for 9781529029260

Max and the Midknights is a story for young adventurers everywhere, and the first book in a new chapter-book series by bestselling children's author Lincoln Peirce. With a thrilling quest to follow and a cast of hilarious characters to meet, this book would make an excellent gift for fans of Roald Dahl and David Walliams. 

Milly-Molly-Mandy Stories

by Joyce Lankester Brisley

Book cover for 9781529010688

This classic children's book was first published in 1928, and now it’s best-loved character is back to delight a new generation of young readers. Charting the adventures of Milly-Molly-Mandy and her friends little-friend-Susan and Billy Blunt, this collection contains 13 short stories perfect for reading together. 

Just Annoying

by Andy Griffiths

Book cover for 9781529022926

The best way to get kids excited about reading is to make it fun, and Just Annoying will do just that with its practical jokes, hilarious adventures and general silliness. Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton's second short story collection is guaranteed to give young readers lots of laughs! 


Sticker and activity books for 5 and 6-year-olds

This selection of fun activity books will keep young minds busy with crafts, colouring and easy word puzzles for them to practice their developing reading skills. Find more of the best sticker and activity books for kids of all ages here. 

Monkey Puzzle Make and Do Book

by Julia Donaldson

Book cover for 9781529023848

This activity and sticker book for kids aged 5 and 6 is based on Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler's best-loved jungle adventure. With games, creative jungle-themed craft projects to make together and over 200 stickers; this animal-themed activity book has lots of inspiring ways to keep little ones occupied and entertained. 

Moominvalley: The Activity Book

by Amanda Li

Book cover for 9781529016437

This creative activity book is full of colouring pages and crafting ideas inspired by Moomin magic. Young fans of the Moominvalley TV series will love recreating Moominmama's flower beds, fashioning a flower crown just like Snorkmaiden's, and colouring scenes that feature their favourite characters. 

The Treehouse Fun Book 3

by Andy Griffiths

Book cover for 9781509885305

This activity book is perfect for fans of the Treehouse series. With crosswords and word puzzles plus colouring pages and ways to get creative, The Treehouse Fun Book 3 has plenty of engaging ways for 5 and 6-year-olds to practise their reading skills.