11 new British Crime Book Series

15 April 2015

By Pan Macmillan

Step aside Morse and Poirot, here are eleven new fictional detectives to investigate.


Susan Wilkins - The Informant (Book one in the Nicci Armstrong series)

Susan Wilkins writes about villainy on both sides of the law. In her debut, DS Nicci Armstrong is determined to put cop killer Joey Phelps behind bars. What she doesn't realize is that her efforts are being sabotaged by someone inside the met. We can’t wait for the follow-up The Mourner.

read an extract

Sarah Hilary – Someone Else’s Skin (book one in DI Marnie Rome series)

DI Marnie Rome is our kind of detective – intuitive and determined, and a redhead; she also battles a family tragedy which threatens to resurface and drag her back to the dark. We love sidekick Noah Jake too.

find out more



Anya Lipska – Where the Devil Can't Go (Book one in the Kiszka and Kershaw series)

Author Anya Lipska is a TV producer and scriptwriter, and her flair for pacing and drama shows in her thrilling Kiszka and Kershaw series. Janusz Kiska is the fixer to East London’s poles, and Natalie Kershaw his police detective nemesis. Their chemistry is electric. 

find out more


Eva Dolan – Long Way Home (Book one in the Ferreira and Zigic series)

DS Ferreira and DI Zigic head up Peterborough's hate crimes unit, in Eva Dolan’s debut novel Long Way Home. The series focuses on Peterborough's large immigrant community and their clashes inside and outside the community. Check out the sequel too, Tell No Tales.

find out more

David Mark - Dark Winter (Book one in the Aector Mcavoy series)

Six foot five DS Aector Mcavoy is the star of David Mark’s bestselling debut Dark Winter, where he is called to investigate a serial killer targeting sole survivors in the manner they had escaped death. Mcavoy is not your typical brutish detective; he is more of a gentle giant and his day job weighs heavily on him.

find out more

Mari Hannah - The Murder Wall (Book one in the Kate Daniels series)

We do love a Northern detective, and Northumberland based DCI Kate Daniels is one of our favourites. Daniels is seriously conflicted, torn between her ambition to get to the top and a relationship with an ex who she can’t let go. TV rights have been snapped up too.

read the opening chapter


Oliver Harris –The Hollow Man (Book one in the Nick Belsey series)

There is a thin line between right and wrong, and Detective Nick Belsey crosses the line often. With a nod to Jo Nesbo’s damaged Detective Harry Hole, North London based Nick Belsey is addicted to drugs, drink, women, gambling and getting into trouble. Yet somehow, we are always rooted for him to get away with it! 

find out more

Clare Donoghue – Never Look Back (Book one in the DI Mike Lockyer series)

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Donoghue’s South London set crime series features DI Mike Lockyer, head of the regional murder squad and with three bodies on his watch. His personal life is a disaster area too, and we devoured the sequel.

read an extract



MJ Arlidge – Eeny Meeny (book one in the DI Helen Grace series)

Tough and damaged DI Helen Grace faces a fiendishly complex case in Arlidge’s bestselling debut Eeeny Meeny, a kidnapper who abducts pairs and only lets one survive. We couldn’t put it down. 

find out more

Stav Sherez – A Dark Redemption (Book one in the Carrigan & Miller series)

Sherez manages to make maverick cop DI Jack Carrigan and sidekick DS Geneva Miller feel fresh, in this gritty London set crime novel. Together they hunt the murderer of a young Ugandan student, which leads them into the underground world of the illegal immigrant.

find out more

Sara Sheridan – Brighton Belle (Book one in the Mirabelle Bevan series)

Set in 1950s Brighton, retired secret service Agent Mirabelle Bevan is nursing a broken heart when she is called back into action to investigate a murder that only she has the skills and knowledge to solve.

find out more


Love crime thrillers? Sign up to the Thin Blue Spine

Sign up using the form below and we'll send a classic sherlock holmes locked-room mystery by Arthur Conan Doyle straight to your inbox to welcome you to our community of crime fans.
 
Not only that but you'll be the first to hear about all the latest and best crime novels, competitions you won’t find anywhere else and exclusive features from the biggest authors around, as well as some rising stars. 

You may also like