The best cosy crime books to curl up with

Cosy mysteries are perfect for crime fans looking for some light-hearted escapism. Here’s our edit of the best cosy crime books to curl up with.

08/04/2020

Full of compelling mysteries without the graphic violence of many crime and thriller books, the cosy crime genre is perfect for crime and thriller fans who are looking for some light-hearted escapism. If you prefer a clever whodunnit to a shocking thriller, here’s our edit of the best cosy crime books to curl up with. 

For even more crime reads, don’t miss the best crime and thriller books of 2020.

 

Date with Danger

by Julia Chapman

Read extract

The Dales Detective Agency is about to face its biggest challenge after a fatal accident at Bruncliffe's livestock auction. Detective duo Samson O’Brien and Delilah Metcalfe are called in for a simple health and safety investigation, but things take a dark turn when they discover evidence that points to murder. 

Read extract

A Bird in the Hand

by Ann Cleeves

Read extract

The first book in the George and Molly Palmer-Jones series by Ann Cleeves, author of the Shetland and Vera Stanhope crime novels, deals with a murder in a birdwatching paradise on the Norfolk coast. When elderly birdwatcher George Palmer-Jones and his wife Molly decide to quietly to look into the crime, they get more than they bargained for. 

Read extract

A Little Local Murder

by Robert Barnard

Read extract

This classic small-town murder mystery from Robert Barnard has everything you could ask from from a cosy crime novel.
 
A radio documentary on the small village of Twytching provokes a fierce rivalry amongst the villagers. Inspector George Parrish is keen to stay out of all the fuss until the murder of one of the villagers and a rash of poison pen letters uncovering secrets about Twytching's leading citizens forces him to get involved.

Read extract

Date with Danger

by Julia Chapman

Read extract

The Dales Detective Agency is about to face its biggest challenge after a fatal accident at Bruncliffe's livestock auction. Detective duo Samson O’Brien and Delilah Metcalfe are called in for a simple health and safety investigation, but things take a dark turn when they discover evidence that points to murder. 

Read extract

Dr Finlay's Casebook

by A. J. Cronin

Read extract

Set in and around the fictional Scottish town of Levenford and village of Tannochbrae during the inter-war years, the classic tales of Dr Finlay, his senior colleague Dr Cameron, and their unruffled housekeeper Janet, remain as heart-warming, funny and touching now as they were upon first publication.

Read extract

The Body on the Beach

by Simon Brett

Read extract

The first book in Simon Brett’s much-loved Fethering series finds Carole and Jude, residents of a retirement town on England's southern coast, teaming up to solve the case of a body that mysteriously appears, and just as suddenly disappears, on a local beach.

Read extract

The Human Flies

by Hans Olav Lahlum

Read extract

Hans Olav Lahlum is a historian, chess player, politician and Norway's answer to Agatha Christie.
 
This first novel in the series featuring ambitious young detective Inspector Kolbjørn Kristiansen, known as K2, and his precocious young assistant Patricia, is an intriguing murder mystery set in an apartment complex in 1960s Oslo.

Read extract

The Lavender Ladies Detective Agency: Death in Sunset Grove

by Minna Lindgren

Read extract

There's a mystery to solve at Sunset Grove retirement home and residents Siiri and Irma are about to turn their hand to detective work.
 
Like a Finnish Miss Marple mystery, the first book in The Lavender Ladies Detective Agency series is perfect for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Agatha Christie.

Read extract

The Murder at the Vicarage

by Agatha Christie

Read extract

Agatha Christie is the undisputed queen of detective fiction and her tales of the unlikely amateur sleuth, Miss Jane Marple, are some of her most beloved mysteries.
 
Murder at the Vicarage marks the debut of Christie’s unflappable female detective. With her gift for sniffing out the ‘wickedness in village life’, Miss Marple is led on her first case to a crime scene at the local vicarage where Colonel Protheroe, the magistrate whom everyone in town hates, has been shot through the head.

Read extract

 

Here, Emma shares some of her favourite cosy crime novels: