1. Home
  2. Articles
  3. Crime & Thrillers
  4. Books to read if you love Richard Osman and Cosy Crime

Books to read if you love Richard Osman and Cosy Crime

Cosy mystery books are perfect for crime fans looking for some light-hearted escapism. Here's our edit of the best cosy crime books to curl up with.

Full of compelling mysteries, the emerging cosy crime genre is perfect for crime and thriller fans who are looking for some light-hearted escapism. If you prefer a clever whodunnit to a shocking thriller and are a fan of Richard Osman’s The Thursday Murder Club and M.C. Beaton's books, you're sure to enjoy our edit of the best cosy crime books to curl up with. 

For even more crime reads, don’t miss our list of the best crime books of 2021.

Date With Betrayal

by Julia Chapman

Book cover for Date With Betrayal

Death is coming to Bruncliffe: its target is Samson O’Brien.

Oblivious to his impending date with fate, Samson is busy juggling a number of cases at the Dales Detective Agency. Too busy, in fact, to notice his partner behaving oddly – because Delilah Metcalfe knows what is coming. A hitman. Sent from London with one objective: to finally silence the troublesome O’Brien before his corruption case can make it to court.

With Samson’s life in peril, and betrayal around every corner, Delilah has no choice but to call in favours from all of her Bruncliffe connections in order to counteract the menace threatening to engulf the Dales town.

Date with Danger

by Julia Chapman

Book cover for Date with Danger

The Dales Detective Agency is about to face its biggest challenge after a fatal accident at Bruncliffe's livestock auction. Detective duo Samson O’Brien and Delilah Metcalfe are called in for a simple health and safety investigation, but things take a dark turn when they discover evidence that points to murder. If you love cosy crime books set in spectacular landscapes, you'll love this intriguing murder mystery.

Date with Deceit

by Julia Chapman

Book cover for Date with Deceit

Escape to the Yorkshire Dales in Julia Chapman's sixth Dales Detective Agency mystery. When Samson O’Brien and Delilah Metcalfe are asked by the town Mayor's wife to investigate his potential infidelity, the duo knows they must tread carefully. Soon, what they thought would be a simple–and safe–case to investigate turns potentially deadly, and O'Brien and Metcalfe find themselves risking their lives on a stakeout. Packed with Chapman's trademark wit and bags of Yorkshire humour Date with Deceit is the perfect escapist read for anyone who loves cosy mysteries and clever whodunnits.   

Riccardino

by Andrea Camilleri

Book cover for Riccardino

The twenty-eighth and final novel in the thrilling, wickedly funny Inspector Montalbano Mysteries series by bestselling author Andrea Camilleri, will be published 14 October 2021.

In the highly anticipated final instalment of Camilleri's bestselling series, Inspector Montalbano receives a strange phone call early in the morning, from a caller by the name of Riccardino who claims to be expecting Montalbano's imminent arrival. But later that day, Montalbano learns of a brutal slaying in broad daylight, and while the assassin is unknown the victim's name is Riccardino – and the Inspector's troubles are only just beginning . . . 

Exquisitely crafted by one of Europe's greatest crime fiction writers, Riccardino is a series finale that is not to be missed.


A Bird in the Hand

by Ann Cleeves

Book cover for A Bird in the Hand

The first book in the George and Molly Palmer-Jones series by Ann Cleeves, author of the Shetland and Vera Stanhope crime novels, deals with a murder in a birdwatching paradise on the Norfolk coast. When elderly birdwatcher George Palmer-Jones and his wife Molly decide to quietly to look into the crime, they get more than they bargained for.

A Little Local Murder

by Robert Barnard

Book cover for A Little Local Murder

This classic small-town murder mystery from Robert Barnard has everything you could ask from from a cosy crime novel.

A radio documentary on the small village of Twytching provokes a fierce rivalry amongst the villagers. Inspector George Parrish is keen to stay out of all the fuss until the murder of one of the villagers and a rash of poison pen letters uncovering secrets about Twytching's leading citizens forces him to get involved.

Dr Finlay's Casebook

by A. J. Cronin

Book cover for Dr Finlay's Casebook

Set in and around the fictional Scottish town of Levenford and village of Tannochbrae during the inter-war years, the classic tales of Dr Finlay, his senior colleague Dr Cameron, and their unruffled housekeeper Janet, remain as heart-warming, funny and touching now as they were upon first publication.

The Human Flies

by Hans Olav Lahlum

Book cover for The Human Flies

Hans Olav Lahlum is a historian, chess player, politician and Norway's answer to Agatha Christie.

This first novel in the series featuring ambitious young detective Inspector Kolbjørn Kristiansen, known as K2, and his precocious young assistant Patricia, is an intriguing murder mystery set in an apartment complex in 1960s Oslo.

The Lavender Ladies Detective Agency: Death in Sunset Grove

by Minna Lindgren

Book cover for The Lavender Ladies Detective Agency: Death in Sunset Grove

There's a mystery to solve at Sunset Grove retirement home and residents Siiri and Irma are about to turn their hand to detective work.

Like a Finnish Miss Marple mystery, the first book in The Lavender Ladies Detective Agency series is perfect for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Agatha Christie.

The Murder at the Vicarage

by Agatha Christie

Book cover for The Murder at the Vicarage

Agatha Christie is the undisputed queen of detective fiction and her tales of the unlikely amateur sleuth, Miss Jane Marple, are some of her most beloved mysteries.

Murder at the Vicarage marks the debut of Christie’s unflappable female detective. With her gift for sniffing out the ‘wickedness in village life’, Miss Marple is led on her first case to a crime scene at the local vicarage where Colonel Protheroe, the magistrate whom everyone in town hates, has been shot through the head.


Here, Emma shares some of her favourite cosy crime novels: