1. Home
  2. Articles
  3. Crime & Thrillers
  4. Books to read if you love Agatha Christie

Books to read if you love Agatha Christie

And Then There Were eight more ways to get your next fix of secrets, suspense and surprises. Here are the best books to read if you love Agatha Christie.

She's the best-selling novelist of all time, the creator of super-sleuths Poirot and Miss Marple, and her work has had more theatre, TV, radio and film adaptations than you can twirl your moustache at. Agatha Christie has had readers rapt with her classic thrillers for over a hundred years. So what to read next if you're on the lookout for other authors like Agatha Christie? If the likes of The Murder of Roger Ackroyd and The Body in the Library have you hooked on red herrings, intricate plotting and intriguing motives, then these recommendations should help keep your little grey cells entertained. So gather round your ten closest friends, keep an eye on the butler and get ready to be double-crossed by these ingenious Christie-esque creations, with our edit of the best books to read if you love Agatha Christie.

Daisy Darker

by Alice Feeney

Book cover for Daisy Darker

Daisy Darker’s family haven’t been together in the same place for over a decade – and this may have been for the best. Finally reunited for an eightieth birthday celebration, they find themselves spending Halloween in a crumbling house on a private island, about to be cut off by the tide. Get ready for dark family dynamics, murder and a twist you definitely won’t see coming. 

The Christie Affair

by Nina de Gramont

Book cover for The Christie Affair

In 1926, Agatha Christie vanished from her home in Berkshire and reappeared eleven days later in a hotel in Harrogate. Why, and what happened in between, remains unexplained to this day. Taking inspiration from Christie’s disappearance and her signature skill with a devilish plot, Nina de Gramont’s novel cleverly combines actual events with a parallel murder mystery to reimagine the circumstances around this real-life riddle.

The Tiger in the Smoke

by Margery Allingham

Book cover for The Tiger in the Smoke

Margery Allingham is one of the four Queens of Crime (alongside, of course, Agatha Christie) who ruled over the Golden Age of Crime Fiction in the 1920s and 30s. Set in a post-war London rendered almost impenetrable by fog, The Tiger in the Smoke follows a detective, Albert Campion, who finds himself dragged into a sinister criminal underworld while on the trail of a mysterious stranger posing as a dead soldier.

Locked Room Mysteries

by David Stuart Davies

Book cover for Locked Room Mysteries

Not just whodunnits, but howdunnits, locked room mysteries – in which a crime is committed in circumstances that seem impossible – were incredibly popular when Agatha Christie was growing up. This collection brings together stories from such masters of the genre as Edgar Allan Poe, Wilkie Collins, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and G. K. Chesterton.

The Widows of Malabar Hill

by Sujata Massey

Book cover for The Widows of Malabar Hill

Bombay, 1921. Armed with a law degree from Oxford and a passion for protecting women’s legal rights, Perveen Mistry is forced to turn detective when her suspicions over a dubious will are proved correct and bubbling tensions boil over into murder. Inspired in part by a real woman who made history by becoming India's first female lawyer, The Widows of Malabar Hill is the first of Sujata Massey’s Perveen Mistry novels, all set in India at the time Christie was writing.

Malice Aforethought

by Francis Iles

Book cover for Malice Aforethought

Growing tired of his apparently literally insufferable wife and full of passion for another woman, Dr Edmund Bickleigh resolves to murder his spouse. Set in the epitome of stuffy 1920s England – a gossipy tennis party – this darkly amusing tale is one of the earliest and best examples of the inverted detective story. We know who committed the crime, the question is, will he get away with it?

The Hunting Party

by Lucy Foley

Book cover for The Hunting Party

New Year. The Scottish wilderness. A murder among friends. Lucy Foley’s bestseller is a Agatha Christie-style house-party whodunnit which slowly draws out the long-held grudges of a close-knit group to build a feeling of real menace. It’s full of tension, rivalry and secretly toxic friendships. 

The Club

by Ellery Lloyd

Book cover for The Club

'Marple meets Succession' says Sunday Times Style of this addictive thriller set amongst the celebrity elite on a private members' island. Beautiful people can have ugly secrets and, in a world where reputation is everything, they'll do anything to keep them. A story of ambition, excess and murder.