The Seven Imperfect Rules of Elvira Carr

Frances Maynard

See more book details
12 July 2018
9781509842131
400 pages
Synopsis

'Wonderful' Rosie Walsh, author of The Man Who Didn't Call.

Funny, heart-warming and ultimately triumphant, The Seven Imperfect Rules of Elvira Carr by Frances Maynard is a story for anyone who doesn’t quite fit in – and for everyone who chooses not to. Perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.

Elvira Carr is twenty-seven, neuro-atypical, and has never lived alone. But her father – who she suspects was in the secret service – is dead, and when her mother has a stroke and is taken into care, Elvira suddenly finds herself home alone. In order to cope, Elvira – who knows a lot about biscuits and supermarkets, but not much about life – develops Seven Rules for interacting with others. Not even her rules can help her, however, when she’s faced with solving a mystery she didn’t know existed . . .

'Big-hearted and charming' James Hannah, author of The A to Z of You and Me.

Absolutely fantastic

Rosie Walsh, author of The Man Who Didn't Call

Funny and heart-warming, Elvira is our new hero

The Sun, Fabulous magazine

Big-hearted and charming . . . Elvira manages to conjure up the one thing we could all do with: a cheat sheet for the painful puzzle of everyday life

James Hannah, author of The A to Z of You and Me