Spatterjay Series

Neal Asher

Neal Asher’s Spatterjay sequence is set in his far-future Polity Universe, where artificial intelligence rule over humans, and interstellar travel is as easy as stepping through a doorway. Beginning with The Skinner, the novels take place on a remote aquatic world, where humans live a precarious existence in ‘domes’ which protect them from the hostile local lifeforms. Expect fast-paced action, imaginative worldbuilding and some truly grotesque biology in these science fiction adventures, perfect for fans of Peter F. Hamilton, Iain M. Banks, Alastair Reynolds or James S. A. Corey.

The Skinner #1 in series

The Skinner

Book 1 in the series

The Skinner is the first book in Neal Asher's Spatterjay series set in a lethal waterworld.To the remote planet Spatterjay come three travellers with very different missions. Janer is directed there by the hornet Hive-mind; Erlin comes to find the sea captain who can teach her to live; and Keech - dead for seven hundred years - has unfinished business with a notorious criminal. Spatterjay is a watery world where the human population inhabits the safety of the Dome and only the quasi-immortal hoopers are safe outside amidst a fearful range of voracious life-forms. Somewhere out there is ...

The Voyage of the Sable Keech #2 in series

The Voyage of the Sable Keech

Book 2 in the series

The Voyage of the Sable Keech is the second book in Neal Asher's Spatterjay series, following on from The Skinner.Sable Keech is a walking dead man. Was he resurrected because he was infected by the Spatterjay virus, or it took place late in a tank of seawater? Taylor Bloc wants to know the truth. He also wants more – adulation, power, control – and will go to any lengths to achieve them. An ancient hive mind has sent an agent to this uncertain world. Does it merely want to obtain the poison 'sprine' that is crucial to immortality? Erlin, still faced with the ennui of immortality, is ...

Orbus #3 in series


Book 3 in the series

Orbus, the third book in Neal Asher's Spatterjay series, is the follow-up to The Voyage of the Sable Keech tracing the journey of an Old Captain, Orbus – a sadist in charge of a crew of masochists - to a planetary wasteland called The Graveyard lying between the Polity and the Prador Kingdom. An ancient war drone by the name of Sniper has stowed away aboard his spaceship, and the purpose of the journey is not entirely what the captain expected. Also heading in the same direction is the Prador king and the Prador Vrell. Vrell, having been mutated by the Spatterjay virus into something ...