The Thing about Jellyfish

4.02 based on 9369 ratings & 1619 reviews on Goodreads.com

It's peculiar how no-words can be better than words. How silence can say more than noise, or a person's absence can occupy even more space than their presence did.

Suzy is twelve when her best friend, Franny, drowns one summer at the beach. It takes two days for the news to reach Suzy, and it's not something that she can accept: Franny has always been a strong swimmer, from the day they met in swim class when they were just five. How can someone all of a sudden, just no longer be there?

Suzy realizes that they must have got it wrong: Franny didn't just drown - she was stung by a poisonous jellyfish. This makes a lot more sense to Suzy's logical mind than a random drowning - cause: a jellyfish sting; effect: death.

Suzy's journey to acceptance is quiet - she resolves to either say something important, or say nothing at all. But it's also bursting with bittersweet humour, heart-breaking honesty, big ideas and small details.

The Thing About Jellyfish is an astonishing debut novel from Ali Benjamin, and is perfect for fans of Wonder, Counting By 7s and My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece.

The writing is stunning and so magical.
Reese Witherspoon
This is a heartbreakingly touching debut about friendship, loss, fear and love that is funny, clever and beautifully written
Daily Mail
An accomplished debut that skillfully charts the pressure growing up puts on friendships
The Bookseller

About Ali Benjamin

Ali Benjamin has written for the Boston Globe Magazine, Martha Stewart's Whole Living and Sesame Street. Ali is a member of the New England Science Writers. " " " "When not working, Ali wrangles children, drinks too much coffee, sometimes runs, hangs out with friendly dogs, gazes at electron microscopy images of bugs, and teaches kids about storytelling and writing. She serves scrambled eggs for dinner far too often. She is the author of The Thing About Jellyfish.

Read More

From our blogs

Children's books for adults

Children's books for adults

16 March 2016

By The Window Seat

Children’s books that are definitely worth a re-read now you’re all grown-up. 

Read
Pan Macmillan recommends...

Pan Macmillan recommends...

05 October 2016

By The Window Seat

In celebration of the BBC's #LovetoRead campaign we asked bookworms across the office to recommend one book they would urge you pick up this weekend.  

Read