Southern Cross the Dog

Bill Cheng

3.17 based on 1 ratings & 0 reviews on Goodreads.com
See more book details
28 August 2014
9781447224907
256 pages
Synopsis

In the tradition of Cormac McCarthy and Flannery O’Connor, Bill Cheng leads the new generation of great American novelists.

Synopsis

In the tradition of Cormac McCarthy and Flannery O’Connor, Bill Cheng leads the new generation of great American novelists.

'An incredibly daring and powerful debut. Not only does Bill Cheng set the language on fire in Southern Cross the Dog, but he creates a whole new territory of story-telling. One of the great literary enterprises is the ability to understand 'otherness,' and Cheng proves masterful in his ability to dwell in another era and place, while still remaining rooted in the landscape of the human heart. Cheng, almost literally, writes out of his skin.' Colum McCann, author of Let the Great World Spin

'Fantastic and beautifully written, Southern Cross the Dog is an epic and bluesy throwdown in the Southern tradition.' Nathan Englander, author of What We Talk About When We Talk About Anne Frank