Out on 04 August 2022

A Jewish Girl in Paris

Melanie Levensohn

Translated by Jamie Lee Searle
See more book details
04 August 2022
9781529075731
448 pages

Synopsis

Paris, 1940, a city under German occupation. A young Jewish girl, Judith, meets a young man, Christian. But he is the son of a wealthy banker and Nazi sympathiser - his family will never approve of the girl he has fallen in love with. As the Germans impose more and more restrictions on Jewish Parisians, the young couple secretly plan to flee the country. But before they can make their escape, Judith disappears . . .

Montreal, 1982: Shortly before his death, Lica Grunberg confesses to his daughter, Jacobina, that she has an older half-sister, Judith. Lica escaped the Nazis but lost all contact with his first-born daughter. . . Jacobina promises her father to find the sister she never knew. But the search languishes for years, until Jacobina is spurred on by her younger friend Béatrice.

Soon the two women discover a dark family secret, stretching over two continents and six decades which will change their lives forever . . .

Inspired by true events and set against the backdrop of the Second World War, Melanie Levensohn's A Jewish Girl in Paris is a powerful novel about forbidden love, perfect for readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, adapted from a translation by Jamie Lee Searle.

Moving story on multiple levels of time and space. Extremely well researched. The book transported me into another world

This novel is full of suspense and doesn’t let the reader go. A page turner. Must read!

Levensohn shows great sensitivity and empathy in her characters and the deep scars left by history and Nazi cruelty that reach all the way into the present

Stuttgarter Nachrichten