Released on 18 September 2009.

Read extract  

The Places In Between

3.88 based on 11817 ratings & 1237 reviews on

2004 Long-listed

Guardian First Book Award

2004 Short-listed

John Llewellyn Rhys Prize


Rory Stewart's moving account of his walk across Afghanistan in January 2002 was immediately hailed as a classic. Caught between hostile nations, warring factions and competing ideologies, at the time Afghanistan was in turmoil following the US invasion. Travelling entirely on foot and following the inaccessible mountainous route once taken by the Mogul Emperor, Babur the Great, Stewart was nearly defeated by the extreme, hostile conditions. Only with the help of an unexpected companion and the generosity of the people he met on the way did he survive to report back with unique insight on a region closed to the world by twenty-four years of war.

Winner of the Royal Society of Literature Ondaatje Award and the Spirit of Scotland Award and shortlisted for the Guardian First Book Award, the John Llewellyn Rhys Memorial Prize and the Scottish Book of the Year Prize.

In the media

Thank goodness for brave people doing crazy things and for a writer in the tradition of Thesiger and Thubron
This evocative book feels like a long lost relic of the great age of exploration
An insight into the country that few could match
New Statesman