Out on 13 April 2023

Going Zero

Anthony McCarten

13 April 2023
9781529090215
304 pages

Synopsis

'Provocative, perceptive and - no other word will do - ingenious' A J Finn, author of The Woman in the Window

Going Zero, a high-concept thriller from Oscar-nominated screenwriter Anthony McCarten. Erase yourself. The hunt has begun. Perfect for fans of I Am Pilgrim and The Circle.

TWO
HOURS TO VANISH
Ten people have been carefully selected to Beta test a ground-breaking piece of spyware. Pioneered by tech-wunderkind Cy Baxter, FUSION can track anyone wherever they are on earth. But does it work?

ONE CHANCE TO ESCAPE
Each participant is given two hours to 'Go Zero' – to go off-grid and disappear - and then thirty days to elude the highly sophisticated Capture Teams sent to find them. Any Zero that beats FUSION will receive $3million in cash. If Cy's system prevails, he wins a $90 billion-dollar contract with the CIA to develop FUSION and revolutionize surveillance forever.

ZERO ALTERNATIVES
For contestant Kaitlyn Day, the stakes are far higher than money, and her reasons for entering the test more personal than Cy could have ever imagined. Kaitlyn needs to win to get what she wants, and Cy will stop at nothing to realize his ambitions. They have no choice but to finish the game and when the timer hits zero, there will only be one winner…

'One of the best thrillers I've read in a long time. Beyond pure entertainment is the truth this novel speaks to about the disturbing times we live in.' Douglas Preston, #1 New York Times bestseller

'As fast-paced as it is timely... [a] wickedly taut conspiracy thriller' Graham Moore, author of The Holdout

That can-you-beat-the-system hook recalls the juggernaut likes of Ready Player One and Lost, but Going Zero outpaces them both, and dives deeper: it's a speculative-fiction classic in the vein (and even in the league) of I, Robot and Jurassic Park. Provocative, perceptive, and – no other word will do – ingenious.
One of the best thrillers I’ve read in a long time. Beyond pure entertainment is the truth this novel speaks about the disturbing times we live in.
As fast-paced as it is timely. . . Anthony McCarten shoots a bullet through contemporary America with this wickedly taut conspiracy thriller. I'll never look at my phone the same way again.