Blood of an Exile

Brian Naslund

3.96 based on 246 ratings & 85 reviews on Goodreads.com
See more book details
08 August 2019
9781529016123
416 pages
Synopsis

The first book in the Dragons of Terra series, Blood of an Exile features a life-changing mission for a death-defying adventurer . . . Welcome to Brian Naslund's spectacular, action-packed fantasy debut.

Sentenced to die. Impossible to kill.

Bershad was supposed to die. When he was caught attempting to assassinate a fellow noble, he was given the harshest sentence: a command to slay dragons, so his death might serve the kingdom. Yet for some reason he never lost a fight and is now the most successful dragon-slayer in history. However, as a doomed man Bershad is still shunned by his peers and his countrymen. But that could all change.

The king who sentenced Bershad has just given him a way out: kill a foreign monarch and walk free forever. His problem is that Bershad couldn’t care less about the fates of kingdoms – until the dragon-slayer discovers he could save an innocent child in the process.

His mission might also save every creature in Terra.

'Dark and adventurous, brazenly cinematic . . . sure to win over dragon-loads of fantasy fans'
Sebastien de Castell

'Fans of Joe Abercrombie’s First Law or Michael Sullivan’s Riyria Revelations will love Brian Naslund’s debut'
Django Wexler

I had a great time with Blood of an Exile – it’s a fast, fun fantasy full of dragons and traitors, humor and bloody action. Fans of Joe Abercrombie’s First Law or Michael Sullivan’s Riyria Revelations will love Brian Naslund’s debut

Django Wexler

Part Game of Thrones, part super hero epic, Blood of an Exile is a cinematic fantasy whirlwind

Sebastien de Castell

A page-turning, action-packed tale full of memorable characters, set within a world full of dragons . . . It doesn't get much cooler than this

John Gwynne