Out on 03 October 2024

Some Like it Cold

Elle McNicoll

Age 12 +
03 October 2024
9781035027842
368 pages

Synopsis

A big-hearted small-town romance from bestselling, award-winning author Elle McNicoll, Some Like it Cold is perfect for fans of Alice Oseman, Beth Reekles and Gilmore Girls.

After a long absence, 18-year-old Jasper is finally heading home for the holidays - and she's keeping secrets.

Arthur, a budding filmmaker, is turning the town of Lake Pristine into a small town story worthy of the big screen. His plans are disrupted by the arrival of the town's golden girl - the antagonist of his school days; a girl he's never forgotten.

Jasper Montgomery is back in Lake Pristine for one reason: to say goodbye. But before long small-town tensions start to rise, and a certain brooding film buff starts to look like a very big reason to stay . . .

The perfect story to get lost in, Some Like it Cold centres Jasper as an autistic heroine in a big-hearted small-town romance that will melt your heart, from the bestselling author of A Kind of Spark.

As much an ode to the history of the romance genre as a classic yet modern love story in its own right. Achingly honest and heartfelt, this is McNicoll at her best. It is quite literally my favourite romance novel of all time.
A clever, poignant and healing love story . . . Some Like It Cold is a heartfelt romance that is sweeping in its scope and tender in its emotional depth. McNicoll has crafted a powerful ode to love in all its forms: of community, of home and of ourselves – as well as the genre of romance itself.
McNicoll delivers a breathtaking story of love and joy that will keep the reader hooked until the very last page. It was such a pleasure being immersed in Jasper's world, as she navigated family dynamics, friendships, and identity issues in Lake Pristine.