Brood

Jackie Polzin

See more book details
28 April 2022
9781529055252
240 pages

Synopsis

'Fans of Elizabeth Strout and Anne Tyler will devour it.' - Daily Mirror

Darkly witty, deeply moving – Jackie Polzin's Brood is a startlingly original debut novel about motherhood, marriage and grief, full of sorrow, joy and unrelenting hope.

Over the course of a single year, our nameless narrator heroically tries to keep her small brood of four chickens alive despite the seemingly endless challenges that caring for another creature entails – and all the while struggling to confront her own recent loss. From the forty-below nights of a brutal Minnesota winter to a sweltering summer which brings a surprise tornado, she battles predators, bad luck, and the uncertainty of a future that may not look anything like the one she always imagined.

'Full of surprise, humor, grief, and wisdom.' - Karen Joy Fowler, author of We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves

'The most vibrant and compelling slice of life I’ve been privy to in a great while.' - Claire Lombardo, author of The Most Fun We Ever Had

'Splendidly unsentimental, quirky, witty, smart and a complete one-off.' - Clare Chambers, author of Small Pleasures

Darkly funny and poignant.

Fans of Elizabeth Strout and Anne Tyler will devour it.

Daily Mirror

Acutely observed . . . and the chickens provide metaphors for the world at large.

New Yorker