The Liar's Chair

3.26 based on 409 ratings & 80 reviews on Goodreads.com

As featured on Loose Women's Loose Books as their November book club pick.

The Liar's Chair is Rebecca Whitney's stunning psychological thriller debut set in Brighton.

Who can she trust
If she can't trust herself?

Rachel Teller and her husband David appear happy, prosperous and fulfilled. The big house, the successful business . . . They have everything.

However, control, not love, fuels their relationship and David has no idea his wife indulges in drunken indiscretions. When Rachel kills a man in a hit and run, the meticulously maintained veneer over their life begins to crack.

Destroying all evidence of the accident, David insists they continue as normal. Rachel though is racked with guilt and as her behaviour becomes increasingly self-destructive she not only inflames David's darker side, but also uncovers her own long-suppressed memories of shame. Can Rachel confront her past and atone for her terrible crime? Not if her husband has anything to do with it . . .

A startling, dark and audacious novel set in and around the Brighton streets, The Liar's Chair will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the final page has been turned. A stunning psychological portrait of a woman in a toxic marriage, Rebecca Whitney's debut will show that sometimes the darkest shadow holds the truth you have been hiding from . . .

'A twist-filled tour of a marriage made in hell' Peter Swanson

*Perfect for fans of Louise Doughty's Apple Tree Yard*

There are echoes of Gillian Flynn's 2012 blockbuster Gone Girl in this compelling debut . . . a fresh example of 'domestic noir', the story focuses on a marriage that is deeply flawed, but this time it is the wife alone at the epicentre . . . taut and heart-rending, it paints an uncomfortable portrait of a woman tearing herself apart over a murder she never intended to commit
Daily Mail
Those Gone Girl-inspired thrillers are going nowhere. Rebecca Whitney's debut, The Liar's Chair, is about a seemingly perfect relationship that's actually toxic.
Glamour magazine, Entertainment 2015: The Ultimate Edit
A stylish, Brighton-based psychological thriller that blows open the smokescreen of superficial happiness in a successful young couple. This British noir is the work of Rebecca Whitney, an extremely promising literary newcomer.
Grazia

About Rebecca Whitney

Rebecca Whitney studied Creative Arts at Nottingham Trent University. After working for a record company she switched to film production, moving up from tea girl to producer, and making music videos and documentaries. Since relocating to Brighton, she has completed the Creative Writing Certificate at Sussex University, and now lives and writes by the sea with her husband and two children. Discover more @RebeccaJWhitney and www.rebeccawhitney.co.uk

Read More

From our blogs

Ten inspirational quotes by writers for writers

Ten inspirational quotes by writers for writers

04 August 2015

By Pan Macmillan

Rebecca Whitney, author of The Liar's Chair, picks her favourite quotes to inspire the writer inside of you.

Read
Our best crime novels of 2015

Our best crime novels of 2015

10 December 2015

By Pan Macmillan

From award-winning historical mysteries to gripping psychological thrillers, here's a round up of the best crime fiction books we've published this year.

Read