Ten inspirational quotes by writers for writers

Rebecca Whitney, author of The Liar's Chair, picks her favourite quotes to inspire the writer inside of you.

03/08/2015
4 minutes to read
Isabel Allende - quote.jpg


Rebecca Whitney, author of The Liar's Chairpicks her favourite quotes to inspire the writer inside of you.

Margaret Atwood quote.jpg

‘A word after a word after a word is power’
Margaret Atwood


Isabel Allende - quote.jpg

‘Show up, show up, show up, and after a while the muse shows up, too.’
Isabel Allende


James Thurber quote.jpg

‘Don't get it right, get it written.’
James Thurber


Anais Nin quote.jpg

‘We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect.’
Anais Nin


Steve Pressfield quote.jpg

‘If you find yourself asking yourself (and friends), 'Am I really a writer? Am I really an artist?' chances are you are. The counterfeit innovator is wildly self-confident. The real one is scared to death.’
Steven Pressfield


Ernest Hemingway quote.jpg

‘Write hard and clear what hurts’
Ernest Hemmingway


Francoise Sagan Quote.jpg

‘I shall live badly if I do not write, I shall write badly if I do not live.’
Francoise Sagan


Joseph Chilton Pearce Quote.jpg

‘To live a creative life we must lose our fear of being wrong.’
Joseph Chilton Pearce


Chuck Close quote.jpg

‘Inspiration is for amateurs, the rest of us just show up and get to work.’
Chuck Close


Rainer Maria Rilke quote.jpg

‘Surely all art is the result of one's having being in danger, of having gone through an experience all the way to the end, to where no one can go any further’
Rainer Maria Rilke


The Liar's Chair

by Rebecca Whitney

Book cover for The Liar's Chair

The Liar's Chair is Rebecca Whitney's stunning psychological thriller debut set in Brighton.

Who can she trust
If she can't trust herself?


Rachel Teller and her husband David appear happy, prosperous and fulfilled. The big house, the successful business . . . They have everything.

However, control, not love, fuels their relationship and David has no idea his wife indulges in drunken indiscretions. When Rachel kills a man in a hit and run, the meticulously maintained veneer over their life begins to crack.

Destroying all evidence of the accident, David insists they continue as normal. Rachel though is racked with guilt and as her behaviour becomes increasingly self-destructive she not only inflames David's darker side, but also uncovers her own long-suppressed memories of shame. Can Rachel confront her past and atone for her terrible crime? Not if her husband has anything to do with it . . .

A startling, dark and audacious novel set in and around the Brighton streets, The Liar's Chair will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the final page has been turned. A stunning psychological portrait of a woman in a toxic marriage, Rebecca Whitney's debut will show that sometimes the darkest shadow holds the truth you have been hiding from . . .

'A twist-filled tour of a marriage made in hell' Peter Swanson

*Perfect for fans of Louise Doughty's Apple Tree Yard*