The Orphans of St Halibut's

Sophie Wills

Illustrated by David Tazzyman
Ages 9-12
See more book details
01 October 2020
9781529013375
304 pages
Synopsis

Stolen cakes, major explosions and an unforgettable cast of characters – dive into The Orphans of St Halibut's, a hilarious caper from debut author Sophie Wills and million-copy bestselling illustrator, David Tazzyman. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl and Lemony Snicket.

Life has been perfect ever since the orphans of St Halibut's buried their matron – don't look like that, it was an accident! Tig, Stef, Herc, and Pamela the goat just have to make sure nobody finds out they're on their own.

Discovering that an Inspector is on his way, they'll need to convince him that everything is peachy or they'll be sent to the Mending House – where badly behaved orphans go, never to return. But the Inspector is not quite what he seems and things very quickly go from bad to spectacularly out of hand . . .

Can these crafty kids outsmart the adults and save their home?

'This book reminded me of an old fashioned film caper – a little like St Trinians meets Oliver with a twist of Matilda thrown in' Year 6 Teacher and Parent

‘I would recommend this book to people that like spooky, funny and adventurous stories’ Reader, aged 8

The most effortlessly hilarious book I’ve read in a long time with an unforgettable cast

Nizrana Farook, author of The Girl Who Stole an Elephant

A lovely – warm, funny, energetic – read.

Lucy Mangan

Deliciously funny, dark, eccentric and clever

Nicola Penfold, author of Where the World Turns Wild