10 book series to read after you've finished Game of Thrones

If you love Game of Thrones, or A Song of Ice and Fire, the fantasy book series it was based on, these are the books to read next.

20/05/2019
9 minutes to read

The final series of Game of Thrones has come to an end. If you're looking to fill the Westeros-shaped void in your life whilst waiting for George R. R. Martin to finish The Winds of Winter, here are some epic fantasy series to read if you loved Game of Thrones, or A Song of Ice and Fire, the book series it was based on.

A Chorus of Dragons by Jenn Lyons

Set in a world of ambitious royal families, imperial politics, demons and dragons, Jenn Lyons’ A Chorus of Dragons series is the perfect antidote to Game of Thrones withdrawal. Power and magic combine in the tale of Kirhin, who finds himself at the centre of a secret prophecy.

See the full series here.

Reasons you’ll like it: The clue is in the series name. Dragons, lots of dragons.

Read more about the first book in the series:

The Ruin of Kings

by Jenn Lyons

Book cover for 9781509879489

The first book in the series sees bard’s apprentice Kihrin desperate enough to steal to buy his way out of Quur’s slums. But when he raids the wrong house his life changes forever. Claimed as the heir to the prince, Kihrin learns he is central to an ancient prophecy, and every side wants him as their pawn.

Of Blood and Bone by John Gwynne

Set in the same world as the Faithful and the Fallen quartet (also listed below), John Gwynne's Of Blood and Bone series is perfect for fans of Game of Thrones. It's bloody and atmospheric and features different races fighting for territorial dominance . . .

See the full series here

Reasons you'll like it: Huge battle scenes, epic world-building and a pseudo-medieval setting.

Read more about the first book in the series:

A Time of Dread

by John Gwynne

Book cover for 9781509812936

The first book in the Of Blood and Bone series sees a race of warrior angels ruling the Banished Lands, mutilated corpses, a sign of demonic black magic, found in the snow-covered north, and demons in the shadows, waiting to rise . . .

The Faithful and the Fallen Series by John Gwynne

The Faithful and the Fallen quartet by John Gwynne is pure epic fantasy in the vein of George R. R. Martin, and was shortlisted for the 2016 David Gemmell Legend Award. Malice, Valour, Ruin and finale Wrath chart the violent power struggles of the Banished Lands – a world mankind shares with giants, wyrms, wolves, and other more sinister beings. Young Corban dreams of becoming a great warrior and protecting his king – but as demons and angels from the Otherworld threaten to turn his home into a battlefield, the time to prove his courage will come all too soon.

See the full series here

Reasons you'll like it: It features different beasts including giants, wolves, angels and demons. Different worlds. Complex characters.

Read more about the first book in the series:

Malice

by John Gwynne

Book cover for 9780330545754

The violent past of the Banished Lands saw armies of men and giants fight for supremacy, and although the giants were defeated long ago, they begin to stir again. Young Corban watches enviously as boys become warriors, but his time will come, all too soon.

The Worldmaker Trilogy by Lucy Hounsom

The Worldmaker trilogy is a classic epic fantasy coming-of-age tale, set in a fractured world with a unique magic system. Like Game of Thrones, Lucy Hounsom's novels tell intensely human stories, featuring very believable characters - who make very believable mistakes.

See the full series here

Reasons you'll like it: Richly detailed world-building, refreshing takes on traditional fantasy tropes and unexpected dragons!

Read more about the first book in the series:

Starborn

Book cover for 9781447268451

When Kyndra disrupts her village's ancient ceremony, breaking with centuries of tradition, her superstitious community is quick to turn on her. She fears for her life until two strangers come to her aid, by wielding powers not seen for an age - powers which may soon be awoken in Kyndra . . .

Chronicles of the Unhewn Throne Series by Brian Staveley

Brian Staveley’s Chronicles of the Unhewn Throne trilogy is an epic fantasy of high-stakes intrigue, ideal for fans of A Song of Ice and Fire or the works of Patrick Rothfuss. The Emperor’s Blades introduces the Annurian Empire – a land in turmoil after the murder of its Emperor. His children Valyn, Kaden and Adare must unmask a terrible conspiracy and learn to unlock ancient powers if they wish to dispense justice, and escape with their own lives intact.

See the full series here

Reasons you'll like it: Power struggles, moral dilemmas and magic.

Read more about the first book in the series:

The Emperor's Blades

by Brian Staveley

Book cover for 9781447235828

The Emperor has been murdered, leaving the Annurian Empire in chaos. His son finds his own life in danger, while his daughter hunts her father’s murderer, and the heir to the throne studies at the remote monastery of the Blank God, devoted to mastering ancient powers . . .

The Farseer Trilogy by Robin Hobb

This trilogy follows the life of trained assassin FitzChivalry Farseer (Fitz), in The Six Duchies. His uncle, Prince Verity, attempts to wage war on the Red-Ship Raiders from The OutIslands who are attacking the shores of the kingdom by turning the people of the Six Duchies into Forged ones; a form of zombification which makes them emotionless. Meanwhile, Prince Regal's jealousy and the indulgence of his own selfish whims threatens to destroy Six Duchies.

See the full series here

Reasons you'll like it: George R.R. Martin is a fan, Robin is punishing to her characters and if Jon Snow is your favourite character, Fitz is a king's bastard . . .

The First Law Trilogy by Joe Abercrombie

The First Law is a fantasy series composed of a trilogy and three stand-alone novels set in the same world, written by British novelist Joe Abercrombie.

Set in the Circle of the World, this is a world filled with bad people who do the right thing, good people who do the wrong thing and stupid people who do the stupid thing. Survival is no mean feat, and at the end of the day, dumb luck might be more of an asset than any amount of planning, skill, or noble intention.

See the full series here

Reasons you'll like it: Kick-ass female characters, graphic violence and different character arcs. Brutal fight scenes.

The Tales of the Otori Series by Lian Hearn

This series follows a young warrior named Takeo in his struggles to avenge his adoptive father, escape the legacy of his biological father, and pursue the love of his life in the midst of an enormous power struggle involving dozens of clan lords and thousands of warriors.

See the full series here

Reasons you'll like it: Forbidden love story, political machinations, epic battles. Perfect for fans of Daenerys's struggle to reclaim the Iron Throne.

Read more about the first book in the series:

Across the Nightingale Floor

by Lian Hearn

Book cover for 9781509837809

Sixteen-year-old Otori, who survived the murder of his family by the warriors of Lord Iida Sadamu, is out to avenge his family. And he has the magical skills of the Tribe - preternatural hearing, invisibility and a second self - to help him.

The Broken Empire Trilogy by Mark Lawrence

From being a privileged royal child, raised by a loving mother, Jorg Ancrath has become the Prince of Thorns, a charming, immoral boy leading a grim band of outlaws in a series of raids and atrocities. The world is in chaos: violence is rife, nightmares everywhere. Jorg has the ability to master the living and the dead, but there is still one thing that puts a chill in him. Returning to his father's castle Jorg must confront horrors from his childhood and carve himself a future with all hands turned against him.

See the full series here

Reasons you'll like it: Shocks, blood and violence. Fans of Arya Stark will enjoy this series as Jorg tries to claim vengeance after being orphaned following the murder of his parents.

The Wheel of Time Series by Robert Jordan

The Wheel of Time turns. Ages come and go, leaving memories that become legend. Legend fades to myth, and even myth is long forgotten when the Age that gave it birth returns again. In the Third Age, an Age of Prophecy, the World and Time themselves hang in the balance. What was, what will be, and what is, may yet fall under the Shadow.

When The Two Rivers is attacked by Trollocs ― a savage tribe of half-men, half-beasts ― five villagers flee that night into a world they barely imagined, with new dangers waiting in the shadows and in the light.

See the full series here

Reasons you'll like it: Magic, enchantresses, new races, many characters and spellbindingly detailed new worlds.