Jeffrey Archer's William Warwick books in order

Bestselling author Jeffrey Archer's highly anticipated new series follows the life of Detective William Warwick. Here, Jeffrey tells us more about his new protagonist and what we can expect from the new series. And if you're ready to immerse yourself in this gripping new fiction series from the master storyteller, here are all the William Warwick books in order. 

Jeffrey Archer's thrilling new series, a must-read for fans of The Clifton Chronicles, explores the life of William Warwick, detective and family man. The series follows William through the ups and downs of his career as he battles against a powerful criminal nemesis and aspires to become Commissioner of the Metropolitan Police Force.

Readers of Jeffrey Archer's internationally bestselling series The Clifton Chronicles may recognise William Warwick as the hero of Harry Clifton's novels. Fans of the series were intrigued to find out more about the character of William Warwick, and now the wait is over.

The first book in the series, Nothing Ventured, sees William graduate from university and, against his father's wishes, decide to join the Metropolitan Police Force. William begins his career on the beat, before taking on his first high-stakes case, the theft of a priceless Rembrandt painting, as a detective with the Art and Antiquities Squad. It's while investigating this case that he meets Beth Rainsford, a research assistant with a secret, who he falls hopelessly in love with. Can William outsmart suave art collector Miles Falkner and crack the case?

The second book in the series, Hidden in Plain Sight follows the newly promoted Detective Sargeant William Warwick as he is reassigned to the drugs squad and begins to investigate a notorious south London drug lord. 

Here, Jeffrey tells us what inspired this new series and what's in store for William Warwick.

Jeffrey Archer's William Warwick books in order

Nothing Ventured

by Jeffrey Archer

Book cover for Nothing Ventured

Despite his father’s wish that he become a barrister, William Warwick decides to follow his dream of becoming a Detective with the Metropolitan Police Force. Nothing Ventured, the first book in this new series, sees William take on his first case with Scotland Yard’s Art and Antiquities Squad. Can Wiliam solve the mystery of the missing masterpiece? And what will happen when he falls in love with research assistant Beth, who has secrets to guard?

Hidden in Plain Sight

by Jeffrey Archer

Book cover for Hidden in Plain Sight

Hidden in Plain Sight is the second in the William Warwick series by Jeffrey Archer. When Detective Sergeant William Warwick is reassigned to the drug squad his first case is to investigate notorious drug lord the Viper. As William and the team get closer to bringing the Viper down, Wiliam is faced with Miles Faulkner, an enemy from his past. Can William bring both men to justice? 

Here, Jeffrey tells us more about what's in store for William Warwick in Hidden in Plain Sight

Turn a Blind Eye

by Jeffrey Archer

Book cover for Turn a Blind Eye

In the gripping third instalment of the William Warwick series, Detective Inspector Warwick must go undercover and expose corruption at the heart of the Metropolitan Police Force. His team are focused on investigating Detective Jerry Summers, but when he develops a relationship with a member of William's team, the whole operation could be compromised. 

Meanwhile, William's father and sister lead the prosecution in the trial of a notorious drug baron, and an old acquaintance reappears in William's wife's life. 

Over My Dead Body

by Jeffrey Archer

Book cover for Over My Dead Body

In the fourth book in the series, Detective Chief Inspector William Warwick, a rising star of the Met, finds himself at the heart of four cases and on the hunt for four killers that are all poised to strike again. 

Page-turning crime fiction that takes you from the heart of London, to Geneva, to luxury cruise liner the Alden, the fourth book in the William Warwick series is not to be missed.