Fans of Poldark have been hooked throughout twelve books and five television series as they’ve followed Ross Poldark from his return from the American War of Independence, through passionate love affairs, the trials and tribulations of business and turbulent family dramas. As the popular BBC adaptation concludes later this summer, with series five expected to be the last, here are the best books like Poldark, for those who have read and loved the twelve novels in Winston Graham’s series.

 

The Clifton Chronicles by Jeffrey Archer

If you love Poldark’s epic scope, from the end of the American Civil War in 1783 to the early decades of the nineteenth century, then you’re also sure to enjoy Jeffrey Archer’s The Clifton Chronicles, which explore the history of the twentieth century through the triumphs and tragedies of the Clifton family. From Harry Clifton’s experience of the horrific events of World War One and Two, to a couple in love cruelly separated by the Iron Curtain, this saga has enough love, loss and betrayal to keep any Poldark fan engrossed to the very end. 

See all the books in The Clifton Chronicles

Buy Only Time Will Tell

 

The Burning Chambers series by Kate Mosse

Set in 16th century Carcassonne and full of historical intrigue, love and betrayal, The Burning Chambers sees nineteen-year-old Minou Joubert recieve an anonymous letter which will change her life forever. An encounter with a young Huguenot convert leads to her involvement in his dangerous mission, but will he escape with his life? The first of a series, this is a thrilling adventure and a heartwarming love story which is sure to appeal to fans who love the romance and action of Poldark.

See all the books in The Burning Chambers series

Buy The Burning Chambers

 

The Queens of Conquest series by Joanna Courtney

Those who were rooting for feisty heroine Demelza throughout the Poldark novels will love the strong female characters of Joanna Courtney’s The Queens of Conquest series, set in the years leading up to the pivotal events of 1066. Book one in the series, The Chosen Queen, sees Edith, granddaughter of Lady Godiva, fall passionately in love with the King of Wales and consequently become embroiled in a bitter feud, before rising to a position of wealth and power beyond anything she could have dreamed of. But her position comes with a price . . . 

See all books in The Queens of Conquest series

Buy The Chosen Queen

 

The Cazalet Chronicles by Elizabeth Jane Howard

Adapted into a 2001 BBC series, The Cazalets, starring Hugh Bonneville, Stephen Dillane and Anna Chancellor, The Cazalet Chronicles follows three generations of the privileged Cazalet family through the uncertain times, throughout World War Two and beyond. Centred on Home Place, the Cazalet’s Sussex country home, The Cazelet Chronicles is the story of a family and their loves, losses and dreams, and the struggle to come to terms with the events of WW2 and life in post-war England.

See all the books in The Cazalet Chronicles

Buy The Light Years

 

The Century Trilogy by Ken Follett

The Century Trilogy is the captivating story of five families whose fortunes are linked through the world-changing events of the twentieth century. From the First World War, Russian Revolution and the struggle for votes for women, to the fight for civil rights in America and the separation of East and West Germany, this sweeping trilogy is not to be missed. 

See all the books in the Century Trilogy

Buy Fall of Giants