Kate Mosse’s The Burning Chambers books in order

Kate Mosse is loved for her epic historical fiction books, including the Languedoc Trilogy and more recently, The Burning Chambers series. Here are all of Kate Mosse's books in The Burning Chambers series in order. 

4 minutes to read
Kate Mosse with the covers of The Burning Chambers and The City of Tears

The number one bestselling author of Labyrinth takes readers on a thrilling journey from 16th-century France to Paris, Amsterdam, London and beyond in The Burning Chambers series. Here’s everything you need to know about Kate Mosse's books and The Burning Chambers series, as well as all of The Burning Chambers books in order. 

If you can’t get enough historical fiction, don’t miss our edit of the best historical fiction books. 

Meet Kate Mosse

Kate Mosse is loved by her fans for her sweeping historical fiction series the Languedoc Trilogy and The Burning Chambers, but she is also the author of nine novels and short story collections, including enthralling gothic novel The Taxidermist’s Daughter, haunting ghost story The Winter Ghosts and spooky short story collection The Mistletoe Bride and Other Haunting Tales. Kate bought a little house within the medieval city walls of Carcassonne in 1989, and it was her time in the city where she became inspired by the landscape, the beauty and the history of the region – that helped Kate become the writer she is.  

Here, Kate introduces herself and explains how she’s inspired to write her novels by ordinary people who are left out of the history books.

What is Kate Mosse’s The Burning Chambers series about?

The Burning Chambers series covers three hundred years of history, beginning with Sunday Times bestselling historical fiction novel The Burning Chambers, set in France in 1562. The adventure continues in the second book in the series, The City of Tears, set in Paris, Chartres and Amsterdam in 1572. Here, Kate gives readers a taste of what’s in store throughout the series.

The Burning Chambers trilogy by Kate Mosse: Everything You Need to Know

‘This is historical fiction to devour. Nobody does it like Kate Mosse’
Anthony Horowitz on The Burning Chambers

Kate Mosse’s The Burning Chambers books in order

The Burning Chambers

by Kate Mosse

Book cover for The Burning Chambers

Beginning in Carcassonne in 1562, The Burning Chambers is a thrilling adventure and a heartbreaking love story set against the backdrop of the religious wars in France. When nineteen-year-old Minou Joubert receives an anonymous letter reading only SHE KNOWS THAT YOU LIVE, she realises she must decipher this mysterious message. But before she has a chance she meets Piet Reydon, a young Huguenot convert with a dangerous mission of his own, and her world is changed forever . . .

‘Mosse's fans will relish this tale of secrets, love and treachery’
The Times

In this video, Kate tells readers more about the adventure that awaits them in The Burning Chambers.

Kate Mosse introduces her book The Burning Chambers

The City of Tears

by Kate Mosse

Book cover for The City of Tears

The gripping sequel to The Burning Chambers is set in France in 1572, where the Wars of Religion have been raging for ten violent years. The country has been torn apart over matters of religion, citizenship and sovereignty, but a royal wedding may mean peace at last. When Minou Joubert receives an invitation to this historic wedding, she has no idea that in the days following the marriage her own family will be ripped apart and one of her children will disappear without trace. 

‘A gorgeously written, utterly absorbing epic and, despite being set in the sixteenth century, has some very pertinent messages for our time’
Lucy Foley, author of The Hunting Party

Find out more about Kate Mosse’s books and her writing process

The best historical fiction is meticulously researched, immersing the reader in a completely different time and place. Here Kate Mosse tells us how she researched her gripping novel The Burning Chambers, including making a trip to southern Africa. 

How Does Kate Mosse Do Her Research?

Find out more about which of her characters Kate Mosse loves the most in this video

Kate Mosse's Most Loved & Hated Characters From Her Own Books