Picador Collection

American Psycho

An international bestseller and true modern classic, American Psycho is a bleak, bitter, black comedy about a world we all recognize but do not wish to confront.

Blood Meridian

A chaotically violent and hauntingly beautiful novel from one of the greatest American novelists, the late Pulitzer Prize-winning Cormac McCarthy.

Line of Beauty

Winner of the Man Booker Prize 2004, The Line of Beauty is exquisitely written, wryly funny and powerfully moving - a perfectly realized tale of our times.

Little Life

A novel of extraordinary intelligence and heart, a masterful depiction of heartbreak, and a dark and haunting examination of the tyranny of experience and memory.

Manual for Cleaning Women

This collection of raw and remarkable short fiction saw Lucia Berlin, little known in her lifetime, finally become lauded as an important figure in American letters

Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat

A million-copy bestseller by the twentieth century's greatest neurologist.

Middle Passage

A lost modern classic, this wildly genre-bending naval adventure is a towering work of American literature and perfect for fans of Colson Whitehead and Marlon James

Red Dust Road

A memoir and soul-searching journey by Jackie Kay.

Room

The story of a mother, her son, a locked room and the outside world.

So You've Been Publicly Shamed

The classic book on social media and public shaming, now with an extra chapter examining the shaming of Monica Lewinsky.

Station Eleven

An audacious, darkly glittering novel about art, fame, and ambition set in the eerie days of civilization's collapse.

White Noise

A brilliantly black and funny novel from the highly acclaimed author of Underworld - now a major new Netflix film from Noah Baumbach starring Adam Driver and Greta Gerwig

The Complete Unreliable Memoirs: Volume One

The first three volumes of the critically-acclaimed, million copy bestselling memoir series from the inimitable author, poet and broadcaster Clive James - a hilarious and poignant account of a truly extraordinary life.

Cultural Amnesia

A dizzying, erudite tour of twentieth-century culture from essayist, critic and poet Clive James.

Nevada

The cult classic that inspired the new wave of transgender fiction – published in the UK for the first time.

Annie John

The classic coming-of-age story of a precocious young girl’s deteriorating relationship with her mother, as she enters adolescence and leaves her childhood behind on the idyllic island of Antigua.

Lucy

A classic coming-of-age story from Jamaica Kincaid, following a young woman as she enters adulthood against the backdrop of a strange and unfamiliar country.

Autobiography of My Mother

Poetic, stirring, and disturbing, this novel is a powerful and unforgettable statement of one woman’s struggle for identity against a hostile backdrop of sexism and colonialism.

At the Bottom of the River

The first short-story collection from Jamaica Kincaid, this is a stunning evocation of life as a young Afro-Caribbean woman.

Among Flowers

Jamaica Kincaid’s engrossing account of a three-week trek through the Himalayas with fellow horticulturalists, intertwining mediations on the stunning landscapes with observations on culture, tourism and family.

All the Pretty Horses

The first in his legendary Border Trilogy, All The Pretty Horses was Cormac McCarthy's breakthrough novel – a coming-of-age western that remains a classic of American literature.

Crossing

A young boy comes of age in the desolate mountains of the Mexican border, in the second volume of the late Cormac McCarthy's legendary Border Trilogy.

Cities of the Plain

After the childhood adventures of All the Pretty Horses and The Crossing, an ill-fated love affair across the US-Mexico border brings Cormac McCarthy's haunting Border Trilogy to its devastating conclusion.

No Country for Old Men

Vivid, thrilling and visceral, No Country For Old Men is set along the familiar bloody frontier of the American South, portraying a time when drug agents and hit men ruled the land . . .

Road

Civilization destroyed, this is the story of a father and son as they journey across a post-apocalyptic America. Winner of the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction and the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Fiction.

End Zone

A rich parody of the parallels between the jargon of football and the jargon of battle – and a touch of cold-war existentialism – makes this powerful novel as hilarious as it is relevant.

Great Jones Street

A troubling satire of the romantic myth of stardom and the empty heart of rock and roll, more relevant than ever in our celebrity-obsessed times.

Mao II

Reclusive writer Bill Gray escapes his failed novel into a world of political violence.

Names

A thriller, a mystery, and still a moving examination of family, loss, and the amorphous and magical potential of language itself.

Underworld

An epic novel combining fiction and history in a collaboration that encompasses fifty years of American history.

Less Than Zero

A disturbing portrayal of privileged and immoral LA teenagers, Less Than Zero is a cult classic.

Rules of Attraction

A startlingly funny, kaleidoscopic novel about three students with no plans for the future – or even the present – who become entangled in a curious romantic triangle.

Lunar Park

From Bret Easton Ellis, author of American Psycho, comes Lunar Park – the hilarious, horrific true story of his rocketing fame, brutal self-destruction and second chance at life.

Migraine

From the bestselling author of Awakenings, The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat and Musicophilia.

Awakenings

The bestselling author of The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat and Musicophilia.

Leg to Stand On

The bestselling author of Awakenings, The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat and Musicophilia.

Uncle Tungsten

From the bestselling author of Awakenings, The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat and Musicophilia.

On the Move

An impassioned, tender and joyous memoir by the author of Musicophilia and The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat.

My Garden (Book)

One of the most important literary voices of the twentieth century on one of her greatest loves - gardening.

Talk Stories

Originally featured in the New Yorker’s ‘Talk of the Town’ column, these are Jamaica Kincaid’s first impressions of snobbish, mobbish New York.

My Brother

Jamaica Kincaid's poweful and moving account of the life and death of her younger brother.

Mr Potter

Jamaica Kincaid’s poetic and affecting story of an ordinary man attempting to make a home on the island of Antigua.

Sparsholt Affair

The Sparsholt Affair is the long-awaited sixth novel from the supreme stylist of British fiction and previous winner of the Man Booker Prize. From Oxford during the dark days of the Second World War to contemporary London, this is a masterly novel about sexuality, art and family secrets.

Stranger's Child

The No.1 bestseller from the Man Booker Prize-winning author of The Line of Beauty: a magnificent, century-spanning saga about a love triangle that spawns a myth, and a family mystery, across generations.

Story of the Night

A love story full of honesty and truth: Colm Tóibín portrays a difficult relationship during dark times

Blackwater Lightship

A story of resolution, compassion and love, The Blackwater Lightship reveals the intense connection between grandmother, mother and daughter during a family crisis

Heather Blazing

The Heather Blazing is a wonderful character study of a man, his childhood, family, and community.

Master

Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize, a remarkable novel about Henry James, the American-born novelist and a connoisseur of exile.

South

Colm Tóibín's debut novel, The South is a classic story of art, sacrifice, and courage

Psychopath Test

Jon Ronson's screamingly funny and deeply disturbing classic exploration of psychopathy.

People in the Trees

The extraordinary first novel by the author of the internationally bestselling phenomenon that is A Little Life.

World's Wife

A unique collection of feminist poems from the former Poet Laureate, filled with her characteristic wit, is a feminist classic and a modern take on age-old mythology, reissued as part of the Picador Collection.

Into Thin Air

Jon Krakauer's acclaimed account of a disastrous expedition on Mt Everest.

See Now Then

A story of a marriage, Jamaica Kincaid’s See Now Then is one of her most emotionally and thematically daring works.

Child of God

Brutal and disturbing, this is a novel that examines the darkest shades of human experience with dignity and grace.

Feminine Gospels

A dazzling, dashing collection from the 2009-2019 Poet Laureate of the United Kingdom reissued in the Picador Collection.

Into the Wild

What would possess a gifted young man recently graduated from college to literally walk away from his life?

Essays In Love

The classic book on love by the bestselling author of How Proust Can Change Your Life and The Consolations of Philosophy.

Stories of Your Life and Others

The debut collection of short fiction from science fiction legend Ted Chiang, including the inspiration for the Oscar-winning film Arrival.

Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

The internationally bestselling story of a young woman whose death in 1951 changed medical science for ever . . .

Burial Rites

Inspired by a true story, Burial Rites is a stunning work of historical fiction following the final days of a young woman accused of murder in Iceland in 1829.

Damned If I Do

A brilliantly postmodern set of short stories from one of America's most inventive living writers.

I Am Not Sidney Poitier

A brilliant satire of mistaken identity, race and class in America.

Percival Everett by Virgil Russell

Assumption

A baffling triptych of murder mysteries by the author of The Trees and James.

So Much Blue

Percival Everett's deadpan humor and insightful commentary about the artistic life culminate in a gorgeous novel.

Telephone

An arresting story of parental love, loss and grief from one of America's finest writers.

Quarantine

Jim Crace's Booker-shortlisted masterpiece.

Silence

Shusaku Endo's most highly acclaimed novel.

Suttree

Alone and exiled on a dilapidated houseboat, a man named Suttree lives amongst the outcasts of humanity. From Cormac McCarthy, author of No Country for Old Men and All the Pretty Horses.

Unquiet Mind

A definitive examination of manic depression.

Them: Adventures with Extremists

The brilliant Jon Ronson takes an hilarious and troubling journey into the world of extremists.

Sea

Winner of the 2005 Man Booker Prize

Wonder

From the bestselling author of Room, a gripping and deeply moving story of progress and reaction, of evil and love.

Bad Land

Jonathan Raban's echnating history of the Great Plains of America, charting the untold story of the land and the ravages of the Great Depression.