Salute the Dark

Adrian Tchaikovsky

18 February 2021
1021 pages


Salute the Dark is the fourth book in the critically acclaimed epic fantasy series Shadows of the Apt by Adrian Tchaikovsky, winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award. As spymaster Stenworld makes a stand in his home city, others must chose where their loyalties lie.

All must face the end of days . . .

Uctebri’s long search for the Shadow Box is finally over. Now the vampiric sorcerer can begin his dark ritual. The Wasp-kinden’s Emperor believes this will grant him immortality, but Uctebri has his own plans – for the Emperor and the Empire.

The mighty Wasp armies are on the march. And now war is imminent, spymaster Stenwold can finally separate allies from false friends. For the Empire won’t stop until a black and gold flag hangs over Collegium, Stenwold's home city.

Tisamon the Weaponsmaster could chose to face the Wasp Emperor himself with a blade in his hand. But he’d need to abandon friends and family, embracing degradation and loss. Yet is he driven by Mantis-kinden honour, or being manipulated by something far more sinister?

Salute the Dark is followed by the fifth book in the Shadows of the Apt series, The Scarab Path.

Brimming with imagination
The Shadows of the Apt series is simply one of the best epic fantasy series out there
Super worldbuilding, great characters and extreme inventiveness