Out on 28 May 2020

The City of Tears

Kate Mosse

See more book details
28 May 2020
9781509806904
0 pages
Synopsis

Following on from the Sunday Times number one bestseller, The Burning Chambers, Kate Mosse's The City of Tears is the second thrilling historical epic in The Burning Chambers series, for fans of Ken Follett and Dan Brown.

August 1572: Minou Joubert and her family are in Paris for a Royal Wedding, an alliance between the Catholic Crown and the Huguenot King of Navarre intended to bring peace to France after a decade of religious wars. So too is their oldest enemy, Vidal, still in pursuit of a relic that will change the course of history. But within days of the marriage, thousands will lie dead in the streets and Minou’s beloved family will be scattered to the four winds . . .

A gripping, breathtaking novel of revenge, persecution and loss, the action sweeps from Paris and Chartres to the city of tears itself, Amsterdam.

Mosse's narrative lyricism, beautifully drawn female characters and deft journey from the past to the present day are a cut above

Scotland on Sunday

Mosse is a master storyteller

Madeline Miller, author of Circe

A powerful storyteller with an abundant imagination

Daily Telegraph